Community
Wiki Posts
Search

BARCLAYS Business Card Application...

Search this Thread

Old May 8, 2017, 12:06 pm
Original Poster

Barclays Requesting Tax Documents for Business Card.

I recently applied for the Hawaii Business Card from Barclays using my Amazon seller account as my business. They put the application under hold requiring further evidence for the credibility of the business. I sent them my amazon transactions and invoice, but now they are asking me tax documents.

I use amazon just to sell unused stuffs at my home, so I don't include it in my Tax.

1 - Are we suppose to include the income generated from Amazon in our Tax regardless of the revenue generated and income?

2 - Should I just send the Tax info to Barclays even if doesn't have Amazon info?

3 - Has anyone gone through this situation?
Old May 8, 2017, 3:34 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: UA 1K 0.9MM, Marriott Gold, HHonors Gold, Hertz PC, SBux Gold, TSA Pre✓
I am not a tax professional. But I believe I know enough about this.

Originally Posted by zust4you
1 - Are we suppose to include the income generated from Amazon in our Tax regardless of the revenue generated and income?
Mostly no.

To include as an income, you must first generate a net profit from your sale first. Many transactions, as a result, are excluded after deducting the cost

2 - Should I just send the Tax info to Barclays even if doesn't have Amazon info?
Barclays is specifically looking for your Schedule C/C-EZ. So sending them your Form 1040 will not help without Schedule C/C-EZ.

Not me personally. But many do because they claim to have a business (for business cards) and turn out they don't.

The simple solution - forget the app and move on.
Old May 8, 2017, 6:03 pm
Original Poster

Thanks for such a detailed answer.^
Old May 8, 2017, 7:29 pm