Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Credit, Debit and Prepaid Card Programs > Credit Card Programs
Reload this Page >

FICO Score getting killed - I am obviously doing this wrong [FICO and Utilization]

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

FICO Score getting killed - I am obviously doing this wrong [FICO and Utilization]

Search this Thread

Old Sep 23, 2013, 5:36 pm
Original Poster

Hello,

I am new at this and I am messing up my score - but not by bad actions as much as by rookie mistakes (i.e. OF COURSE I pay my bills, etc.)

In May I started in on this mad brave world of churning. I opened 3 chase accounts, an AA platinum, and two Citi cards (with the requisite days apart). All were approved.

I have three FICO scores for reference:

Before I started, in September of last year my FICO was 820 or so, when I opened my car loan. Then in August some time, when I got my Wells Fargo card, they sent me a note with my FICO score of 760 or so (why do othr credit companies not send me my score when I get a CC??) Then I just signed up now for MyFICO and it now 731!! I have lost 90 points on my score holy molly! I know it is not shredded, and MyFICO says three things that are not great are:

1) Amount of debt (good)
2) Length of credit history (Very Good)
3) Amount of new credit (Bad)

Hard Pulls or what they call "Inquiries that may be affecting your FICO® score":
August 29, 2013 Cbna
August 18, 2013 Cbna
May 24, 2013 Cbna
May 20, 2013 Chase Bank
May 20, 2013 Cbna
November 07, 2012 Chase Bank

They listed this as why I am not higher:

You opened a new credit account relatively recently.
You've recently been looking for credit.
You have too many credit accounts with balances.
You have too many credit cards carrying balances.

I have:

1) Two Ink Cards (may) Biz cards
2) SP (may) Personal
3) United Explorer (May) personal
4) Freedom (2001) personal
4) two personal Citi AA Cards (May)
5) 1 biz Citi AA Card (august)
6) SPG (may)
7) Amex Plat Biz (may - june)