Go Back   > > >

Old Dec 17, 12, 9:58 pm   #1
Original Poster

Card Recommendation for 10k Spend Per Month

I am a sophomore in college and I feel that I may not be maximizing the rewards that I could be getting.

My first (and only) card is the Citi Platinum Select AAdvantage Card which I got near the end of 2010. At the time, my credit score was nonexistent so I had to have my mother apply for me and I am an authorized user (and the sole user) on the card. Through this, I have been able to build my credit to the 725-750 range.

I spend on average $10,000 per month for my small business and I always pay the balance in full each month. I have racked up about 340k AAdvantage miles so far with the card. I do not travel often and I have only ever redeemed one domestic flight. I certainly would like to travel more (which is why I originally got the card), but I have not gotten around to it yet.

I definitely am not against continuing to earn AAdvantage miles, but I am wondering if anyone has a suggestion for a better way to capitalize on my spending?

Thank you in advance!
ohio2292 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 12, 12:33 am   #2

Programs: On leave from moderator duties until March
Please tell us more about what "travel" plans you have for the future. Lots of different currencies out there, depending where you want to go/stay.

Without any other details, one thing to note is: If you want AA miles, the SPG Amex is a better choice, since there's a 5000 mile bonus when you transfer 20k over. (Thus it is effectively 1.25 miles/$)

Another note: You have plenty of spend to meet any requirements for a signup bonus. Or many signup bonuses.
MDtR-Chicago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 12, 1:13 am   #3

Programs: AA, SPG, HHonors
Mdtr is right. Without knowing any other information, spg amex would be a better daily driver for you. Higher earn rate for aa and flexibility to use for non aa redemptions.