Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Coronavirus and travel
Reload this Page >

US to require air travelers to provide a negative test within 1 day of departure

US to require air travelers to provide a negative test within 1 day of departure

    Hide Wikipost
Old Jun 10, 22, 12:59 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: l etoile
Wiki Link
10 June 2022 - The Biden administration will on Sunday end a requirement that air travelers to the U.S. undergo Covid-19 tests before departure, according to federal officials.

The testing requirement is set to end June 12 at 12:01 a.m.



CDC Order and FAQ: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019...travelers.html

CDC Order updated 2 December 2021:
  • If you plan to travel internationally, you will need to get a COVID-19 viral test (regardless of vaccination status or citizenship) no more than 1 day before you travel by air into the United States. You must show your negative result to the airline before you board your flight.
  • If you recently recovered from COVID-19, you may instead travel with documentation of recovery from COVID-19 (i.e., your positive COVID-19 viral test result on a sample taken no more than 90 days before the flights departure from a foreign country and a letter from a licensed healthcare provider or a public health official stating that you were cleared to travel).

All air passengers 2 years or older with a flight departing to the US from a foreign country at or after 12:01am EST (5:01am GMT) on December 6, 2021, are required show a negative COVID-19 viral test result taken no more than 1 day before travel, or documentation of having recovered from COVID-19 in the past 90 days, before they board their flight.

What types of SARS-CoV-2 test are acceptable under the Order?
You must be tested with a viral test that could be either an antigen test or a nucleic acid amplification test (NAAT). Examples of available NAATs for SARS-CoV-2 include but are not restricted to reverse transcription polymerase chain reaction (RT-PCR), reverse transcription loop-mediated isothermal amplification (RT-LAMP), transcription-mediated amplification (TMA), nicking enzyme amplification reaction (NEAR), and helicase-dependent amplification (HDA). The test used must be authorized for use by the relevant national authority for the detection of SARS-CoV-2 in the country where the test is administered. A viral test conducted for U.S. Department of Defense (DOD) personnel, including DOD contractors, dependents, and other U.S. government employees, and tested by a DOD laboratory located in a foreign country also meets the requirements of the Order.

eMed (Abbot BinaxNOW, one of the approved methods) Thread on Flyertalk: https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/coro...ica-tests.html
Print Wikipost

Old Mar 22, 22, 5:11 pm
  #706  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Atlanta Ga
Posts: 107
Originally Posted by friedablass View Post
I don't see why you can't use them. It says "use with any unopened ihealth test, or purchase here". I'm not flying back to the US until the end of April but if this requirement is still in place I'm planning on using this service with my existing still sealed tests.



Has anyone used Flowflex tests with Azova successfully? I have a couple of these as well and would like to use them for my kids. Can I schedule tests just for them without also scheduling for myself?
i contacted them and i was told that yes they can be used i just wanted to confirm with them
SamirD likes this.
Qasimja is offline  
Old Mar 22, 22, 5:43 pm
  #707  
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SW WA
Posts: 3,609
Unfortunately it looks like they won't proctor a BinaxNow kit, which is all I have. Guess I'll be buying a couple of Flowflex kits...
SamirD likes this.
Buster is offline  
Old Mar 23, 22, 9:48 am
  #708  
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Posts: 24
Return to US Covid test requirement.

Current rule
  • If you plan to travel internationally, you will need to get a COVID-19 viral test (regardless of vaccination status or citizenship) no more than 1 day before you travel by air into the United States. You must show your negative result to the airline before you board your flight.

So just to clarify if I am flying from India to JFK with a connecting flight in Doha should the Covid test be within 1 day for the flight from Doha to USA? Or must the test be within one day from the initial flight that I will be taking from India? Airline is Qatar Airways.

Last edited by Shovad747; Mar 23, 22 at 12:56 pm
Shovad747 is offline  
Old Mar 23, 22, 11:24 am
  #709  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Programs: AA MM, AA EXP; OW Emerald, EK silver
Posts: 765
Originally Posted by Shovad747 View Post
Current rule
  • If you plan to travel internationally, you will need to get a COVID-19 viral test (regardless of vaccination status or citizenship) no more than 1 day before you travel by air into the United States. You must show your negative result to the airline before you board your flight.

So just to clarify if I am flying from India to JFK with a connecting flight in Doha then the Covid test must be within 1 day in order for me to take the flight from Doha to USA? Or must the test be within one day from the initial flight I will take from India?
Your test should be taken the day before your originating flight ie India on the assumption you are just transiting in Doha.
Shovad747 likes this.
dwugson is offline  
Old Mar 23, 22, 11:32 am
  #710  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Everywhere
Programs: AA EXP - 3.5MM, Bonv LIFETIME Titan, HH Dmd, Hyatt Glob., Priority Clb PLT, Ntnl Exec El., Sixt PLT
Posts: 1,538
Originally Posted by Shovad747 View Post
Current rule
  • If you plan to travel internationally, you will need to get a COVID-19 viral test (regardless of vaccination status or citizenship) no more than 1 day before you travel by air into the United States. You must show your negative result to the airline before you board your flight.

So just to clarify if I am flying from India to JFK with a connecting flight in Doha then the Covid test must be within 1 day in order for me to take the flight from Doha to USA? Or must the test be within one day from the initial flight I will take from India?
- Are you flying on a single ticket? If so, then the airline checking you in in India will ask for the test results and you will not be asked again in DOH. This is what happened when we were flying ZNZ-DOH-MIA on Qatar last fall: we were asked to show test results in ZNZ but not DOH.
However, I am not sure what would happen if you are asked to check in in DOH.
Shovad747 likes this.
Alex_I is offline  
Old Mar 23, 22, 11:52 am
  #711  
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Programs: DL PM
Posts: 142
Originally Posted by Alex_I View Post
- Are you flying on a single ticket? If so, then the airline checking you in in India will ask for the test results and you will not be asked again in DOH. This is what happened when we were flying ZNZ-DOH-MIA on Qatar last fall: we were asked to show test results in ZNZ but not DOH.
However, I am not sure what would happen if you are asked to check in in DOH.
When I went ZRH > CDG > USA, they checked the test twice. On check in at ZRH, and just before boarding in CDG.
Last week in DXB they also checked twice, on check-in and just before boarding.
So maybe they run things a bit differently in DOH?
Shovad747 likes this.
wooootles is offline  
Old Mar 23, 22, 12:00 pm
  #712  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Everywhere
Programs: AA EXP - 3.5MM, Bonv LIFETIME Titan, HH Dmd, Hyatt Glob., Priority Clb PLT, Ntnl Exec El., Sixt PLT
Posts: 1,538
Originally Posted by wooootles View Post
When I went ZRH > CDG > USA, they checked the test twice. On check in at ZRH, and just before boarding in CDG.
Last week in DXB they also checked twice, on check-in and just before boarding.
So maybe they run things a bit differently in DOH?
- Did you travel on the same airline? I suspect that Covid test data may not be shared by airlines. In my case we were traveling on the same Qatar.
- In case of OP, the question what constitute a transit vs. stopover? A stay <24 hrs? Travel on the same ticket?

Last edited by Alex_I; Mar 23, 22 at 12:03 pm Reason: additional comment
Alex_I is offline  
Old Mar 23, 22, 12:03 pm
  #713  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 99,787
I wouldn't expect transit rules to apply with separate tickets. The rule is likely to be enforced as one day before the first flight (in the given direction if RT or multicity, or after an official stopover over 24 hours) on a ticket, with separate tickets also needing to satisfy all entry requirements (including testing) for the destination shown on the first ticket.
Xyzzy likes this.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Mar 23, 22, 12:55 pm
  #714  
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 11
With a flight to the US booked for late April, it would be great if they ditched the testing requirements on the 18th as requested in the article below.

https://archive.ph/YPQv8
LETTERBOY and VRFast like this.

Last edited by tartan 201; Mar 23, 22 at 1:13 pm
tartan 201 is offline  
Old Mar 23, 22, 12:59 pm
  #715  
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Posts: 24
Originally Posted by Alex_I View Post
- Are you flying on a single ticket? If so, then the airline checking you in in India will ask for the test results and you will not be asked again in DOH. This is what happened when we were flying ZNZ-DOH-MIA on Qatar last fall: we were asked to show test results in ZNZ but not DOH.
However, I am not sure what would happen if you are asked to check in in DOH.
ok thanks for clarifying that, yes mine is also Qatar Airways and its on a single ticket with a transit at Doha.
Shovad747 is offline  
Old Mar 23, 22, 1:03 pm
  #716  
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Posts: 24
Originally Posted by Alex_I View Post
- Did you travel on the same airline? I suspect that Covid test data may not be shared by airlines. In my case we were traveling on the same Qatar.
- In case of OP, the question what constitute a transit vs. stopover? A stay <24 hrs? Travel on the same ticket?

Yes its a single ticket (Qatar Airways), so it seems Qatar will only check at the originating flight from India.
Shovad747 is offline  
Old Mar 23, 22, 4:58 pm
  #717  
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Programs: DL PM
Posts: 142
Originally Posted by Alex_I View Post
- Did you travel on the same airline? I suspect that Covid test data may not be shared by airlines. In my case we were traveling on the same Qatar.
- In case of OP, the question what constitute a transit vs. stopover? A stay <24 hrs? Travel on the same ticket?
In my particular case, it was AF on both legs.
wooootles is offline  
Old Mar 23, 22, 11:20 pm
  #718  
Hyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Programs: QF, AC, AA, Hyatt, Marriott
Posts: 3,379
Originally Posted by wooootles View Post
In my particular case, it was AF on both legs.
How long was your transit at CDG? I'm travelling with AF soon and have an overnight (circa 18-hour) layover at CDG.
danger is offline  
Old Mar 23, 22, 11:36 pm
  #719  
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Programs: DL PM
Posts: 142
Originally Posted by danger View Post
How long was your transit at CDG? I'm travelling with AF soon and have an overnight (circa 18-hour) layover at CDG.
was ~4hrs IIRC, just enough to enjoy the new AF lounge
wooootles is offline  
Old Mar 25, 22, 7:33 am
  #720  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Francisco
Programs: UA 1K/1MM, Marriott Tit
Posts: 18,113
Originally Posted by SFOTerry View Post
I also received the free iHealth test kits from the feds; and am happy to see the site above offers proctored tests for $20. But when I click on the appointment availability link on their site ["Available by appointment only. (Check the availability here)"], my malware monitor gets upset.
Has anyone here actually booked and used the iHealth proctored tests? I have 4 unopened 2-packs and will need to test 2 humans in Paris on April 11th (per the current rules). My AVG anti-virus still objects vehemently to some supposed malware embedded in the schedule preview site (https://ihealthcvidtest.com/verifyTest/previewschedule - replace the with o). I believe someone above noted that the test can't be done on a phone - not a problem, but I need to get past this malware issue.

I suppose we could go to a pharmacy nearby, but would prefer to do it in our room.
SFOTerry is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread