Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Coronavirus and travel
Reload this Page >

Covid test for entry/re-entry to US [merged thread]

Covid test for entry/re-entry to US [merged thread]

    Hide Wikipost
Old Nov 2, 21, 3:53 pm   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: NewbieRunner
Wiki Link
TRAVEL REQUIREMENTS TO ENTER THE UNITED STATES STARTING NOVEMBER 8, 2021
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019...vel/index.html

IN EFFECT JANUARY 26, 2021 TO DECEMBER 31, 2021 UNLESS OTHERWISE AMENDED
https://www.cdc.gov/quarantine/pdf/g...ncrypted-p.pdf

FAQ
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019...travelers.html

PASSENGER ATTESTATION FOR TRAVEL TO THE USA
https://www.cdc.gov/quarantine/pdf/a...21-01-12-p.pdf

OTHERS
https://www.npr.org/sections/health-...L7PwJTTCggyB7k

ISSUED 21 JAN 2021: National Strategy for the COVID-19 Response and Pandemic Preparedness "EXECUTIVE ORDER PROMOTING COVID-19 SAFETY IN DOMESTIC AND INTERNATIONAL TRAVEL" begins on page 174 of this document.

Print Wikipost

Old Jul 10, 21, 6:05 am
  #1381  
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,162
Random question that someone in this thread might be able to answer (given it's regarding entry to the US)...

Are there any countries that would work as quarantine / staging countries for entry to the US from the UK for British citizen? For instance, could you theoretically fly to Iceland, stay for 14 days, and then take a flight to the US and be allowed entry? From what I'm reading on the ESTA site, it would need to be outside of the UK and Europe, but I'm not sure which countries would potentially work best.

Apologies if it's slightly off topic, I didn't think it was worth creating a thread for.
RG1X is offline  
Old Jul 10, 21, 11:09 am
  #1382  
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Zurich / Europe / New York
Programs: LH, BA, AA
Posts: 966
My situation is as follow:

Day 1 - ticket 1 - ZRH-WAW
Next day - Day 2 - ticket 2 (separate ticket from ticket 1) - WAW-ZRH connecting same day ZRH-MIA

I want to get the test done already in ZRH since I live in ZRH on Day 0. Can I do that, or I should do the test in WAW?

I‘ve not sure how to interpret „ … first point of embarkation … “
LHSEN is offline  
Old Jul 10, 21, 4:18 pm
  #1383  
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: London
Programs: HertzPresCircle, Virgin Atlantic Gold,Hil-Diam, Europcar Elite Vip, Emirates Gold, MarriottTitanium.
Posts: 410
Originally Posted by RG1X View Post
Random question that someone in this thread might be able to answer (given it's regarding entry to the US)...

Are there any countries that would work as quarantine / staging countries for entry to the US from the UK for British citizen? For instance, could you theoretically fly to Iceland, stay for 14 days, and then take a flight to the US and be allowed entry? From what I'm reading on the ESTA site, it would need to be outside of the UK and Europe, but I'm not sure which countries would potentially work best.

Apologies if it's slightly off topic, I didn't think it was worth creating a thread for.
Turkey, Mexico, Aruba, Curacao etc. etc. etc. There's loads. Just pick one that works for you. I think most from the UK do Mexico.
itisme is offline  
Old Jul 10, 21, 5:08 pm
  #1384  
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,162
Originally Posted by itisme View Post
Turkey, Mexico, Aruba, Curacao etc. etc. etc. There's loads. Just pick one that works for you. I think most from the UK do Mexico.
Thanks.
RG1X is offline  
Old Jul 10, 21, 10:47 pm
  #1385  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: ZRH
Programs: AC SE 100K
Posts: 834
Originally Posted by Finkface View Post
Changing your location or even using a VPN wont work to download the Navica app. Many people I know have tried with no success, both ios and Android. Maybe you will get lucky but I would give it a try now. You dont need the tests to download the app. However, you dont need the app necessarily. You can just ise the website which is what my Canadian friends did.
I got it. IOs is easier because they assign you a store country regardless of where you are geographically - so I just changed mine to USA and it worked. Looks like my test kits are almost here .. For Android - is is a real pain - you are typically assigned a location based on where you are.
zrh2yvr is offline  
Old Jul 10, 21, 10:57 pm
  #1386  
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: YVR, HNL
Programs: AS 75k, UA peon, BA Bronze, AC E50k, HH Diamond, Fairmont Plat (RIP)
Posts: 7,463
Originally Posted by zrh2yvr View Post
I got it. IOs is easier because they assign you a store country regardless of where you are geographically - so I just changed mine to USA and it worked. Looks like my test kits are almost here .. For Android - is is a real pain - you are typically assigned a location based on where you are.
Good to hear! And in any case, you can just use the website if necessary anyway.
Finkface is offline  
Old Jul 11, 21, 12:26 am
  #1387  
exp
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Programs: DL, UA, AA, VS
Posts: 5,227
I found out that in France, antigen tests are common in pharmacies but that is not the case in Spain, where they will sell you a self-test kit but that may not be sufficient to meet the US requirement for entry into the US.
SamirD likes this.
exp is offline  
Old Jul 11, 21, 1:39 am
  #1388  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Programs: HHonors Diamond, Bonvoy Gold. Hold AA, UA, BA, LH, SQ, VX, AF, AMEX, Citi, Chase balances
Posts: 2,188
Originally Posted by exp View Post
I found out that in France, antigen tests are common in pharmacies but that is not the case in Spain, where they will sell you a self-test kit but that may not be sufficient to meet the US requirement for entry into the US.
self-test kits are not sufficient anywhere unless someone is monitoring you remotely taking the test and creating a certificate that meets the requirements which is why some Americans are buying the abbott test stateside and bringing it abroad.
not2017 and SamirD like this.

Last edited by saaveraward; Jul 11, 21 at 2:12 am
saaveraward is offline  
Old Jul 11, 21, 2:08 am
  #1389  
exp
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Programs: DL, UA, AA, VS
Posts: 5,227
I suspect as much. I emailed a couple of pharmacies in Barcelona and one of them said they could get me a prescription from a doctor to be able to buy the self-test while others said they can sell me the test without prescription.

So not a reliable situation there.

I guess I'll take the test in France and it will be exactly 3 days, not 72 hours, before my flight back to the US.
SamirD likes this.
exp is offline  
Old Jul 11, 21, 2:14 am
  #1390  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Programs: HHonors Diamond, Bonvoy Gold. Hold AA, UA, BA, LH, SQ, VX, AF, AMEX, Citi, Chase balances
Posts: 2,188
Originally Posted by exp View Post
I suspect as much. I emailed a couple of pharmacies in Barcelona and one of them said they could get me a prescription from a doctor to be able to buy the self-test while others said they can sell me the test without prescription.

So not a reliable situation there.

I guess I'll take the test in France and it will be exactly 3 days, not 72 hours, before my flight back to the US.
France is super easy. Just be advised, most pharmacies are not open on Sunday and Bastille Day is this week and also, despite everyone saying they're free for tourists, I couldn't find a free one (although only tried two places). I paid euro 29 and definitely worth the price for convenience.
lobo411 and SamirD like this.
saaveraward is offline  
Old Jul 11, 21, 2:17 am
  #1391  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Accor 25+ Badge
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Paris, France
Programs: AF/KL Flying Blue Platinum for life/Club2000 Ultimate, Accor ALL Diamond
Posts: 19,409
Originally Posted by saaveraward View Post
France is super easy. Just be advised, most pharmacies are not open on Sunday and Bastille Day is this week and also, despite everyone saying they're free for tourists, I couldn't find a free one (although only tried two places). I paid euro 29 and definitely worth the price for convenience.
its not free anymore for foreign tourists in France : 29 for antigen and 49 for PCR. As you said, getting tested in France is very easy. In any city, you can get tested almost at each street corner.
SamirD likes this.
Goldorak is offline  
Old Jul 11, 21, 7:07 am
  #1392  
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NYC, FLL
Programs: UA 1K MM, Marriott Bonvoy LTTE, BA Silver
Posts: 5,458
Originally Posted by exp View Post
I found out that in France, antigen tests are common in pharmacies but that is not the case in Spain, where they will sell you a self-test kit but that may not be sufficient to meet the US requirement for entry into the US.
But Rapid Antigen Tests are common at clinics in Madrid, Spain - got one last week with ease. Very simple process; would do it again rather than mucking about with the kits.
SamirD likes this.
seanp7 is online now  
Old Jul 11, 21, 9:29 am
  #1393  
exp
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Programs: DL, UA, AA, VS
Posts: 5,227
Originally Posted by seanp7 View Post
But Rapid Antigen Tests are common at clinics in Madrid, Spain - got one last week with ease. Very simple process; would do it again rather than mucking about with the kits.
At least in Barcelona, the clinics and labs don't seem to be in all the tourist areas, like around Plaza Catalunya. So I was hoping pharmacies, which are everywhere, would offer it like they do in France.
SamirD likes this.
exp is offline  
Old Jul 11, 21, 9:38 am
  #1394  
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NYC, FLL
Programs: UA 1K MM, Marriott Bonvoy LTTE, BA Silver
Posts: 5,458
Originally Posted by exp View Post
At least in Barcelona, the clinics and labs don't seem to be in all the tourist areas, like around Plaza Catalunya. So I was hoping pharmacies, which are everywhere, would offer it like they do in France.
Use the metro, there and back in 30 mins. Easy.
SamirD likes this.
seanp7 is online now  
Old Jul 11, 21, 9:53 am
  #1395  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: SFO
Programs: AS 100K, SK, UR, MR
Posts: 2,672
If I understand it correctly, "US to require Covid test for international arrivals" is not quite accurate. How about "US to require Covid test at departure for international arrivals? At least, thats my experience from a flight the other day.
vanillabean is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread