Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Coronavirus and travel
Reload this Page >

I am a Swiss resident denied boarding on return flight to Switzerland from US

Old May 25, 20, 1:38 am
Original Poster

I am a British national living (was working) in Switzerland and have a Swiss residence permit.

I travelled to San Diego on the 28th February for a 1 month break (BA ticket: GVA->LHR->SAN). I was supposed to return on the 1st of April.

Over the past few months as COVID ramped up my return itineraries through BA became increasingly extreme (e.g. SAN->ORD->LHR->DUB->GVA), and, as a result have continuously had legs cancelled and required rebooking. A combination of agreeing to wait for the situation to calm down and cancellations (over 6 itinerary cancellations now) meant I never had an option to fly back through my BA ticket until recently.

A few days ago I was informed that my DUB->GVA leg had yet again been cancelled and as a result BA and its partners had no way of getting me back to GVA. However, they cited a recent mutual agreement they have set up with Swiss allowing them to book me through Swiss for the LHR->GVA leg. I jumped on the opportunity and agreed to be rebooked on a flight departing this morning SAN->ORD (AA) ORD->LHR (BA) LHR->GVA (Swiss).

I was aware that Switzerland has blocked entry for visitors and is only allowing in Swiss nationals and residents. I did not bring my physical residents permit with me as I travelled before these measures were put in place - hindsight 20/20... Because of this, I emailed the Swiss 'service de la population' and asked whether a photocopy of my residents permit would suffice to get back into the country. They confirmed that this was ok and the border agent would be able to check my credentials against my passport using SYMIC.