New Copa Business Class B737-MAX9

Old Sep 18, 18, 6:17 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: GIG
Programs: AAdvantage Plat Pro 1MM, Smiles/GOL Diamond, TudoAzul/AZUL Diamond, HHonors Gold, Accor Platinum,
Posts: 189
New Copa Business Class B737-MAX9

Copa announced today the new B737-MAX9 configuration: business class (2-2) with lie flat seats; economy max (3-3) is the new premium economy and main cabin (3-3).
Pictures here: http://www.milhasedestinos.com.br/co...cama-b737-max/

Last edited by broland; Nov 17, 18 at 6:13 am Reason: Mistake!
broland is offline  
Old Sep 19, 18, 1:20 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: west coast best coast
Programs: TINDER GOLD, STARBUCKS GOLD, COSTCO EXECUTIVE!!
Posts: 3,891
Finally, it's about time. Ain't nobody got time for recliners on SFO/GRU/SCL/EZE-PTY. There better be wi-fi, too.
keitherson is offline  
Old Sep 19, 18, 10:47 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 721


Here is FlightGlobal's article. It is not in Portuguese.

Image is from there
medellinfein is offline  
Old Sep 19, 18, 11:35 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SFO
Programs: AS — views are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my employer
Posts: 159
I'm flying Copa for the first time this December (SFO-PTY-SCL) on a UA business saver award, and am looking forward to the lie-flat seats on the SFO-PTY leg. I checked my reservation online and the aircraft indeed now says 737-900, by which I assume they mean the MAX 9.

Here are the MAX routes at least according to Routes Online:
https://www.routesonline.com/news/38...late-sep-2018/
skyblue is offline  
Old Sep 23, 18, 6:26 pm
  #5  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: DCA or IAD (originally DUB)
Programs: UA 1K 1.8MM, Hertz PC, Marriott Platinum/Lifetime Gold
Posts: 7,658
Originally Posted by skyblue View Post
I'm flying Copa for the first time this December (SFO-PTY-SCL) on a UA business saver award, and am looking forward to the lie-flat seats on the SFO-PTY leg. I checked my reservation online and the aircraft indeed now says 737-900, by which I assume they mean the MAX 9.
The 737-900 is not the 737 MAX9
UAPremExecflyer is offline  
Old Sep 23, 18, 6:48 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SFO
Programs: AS — views are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my employer
Posts: 159
Originally Posted by UAPremExecflyer View Post
The 737-900 is not the 737 MAX9
Thanks, I figured as such, but since Copa does not currently have any 737-900 in its fleet, when I saw "737-900" in my reservation, I was thinking/hoping that it's just their way of indicating the MAX 9? I could very well be wrong!
https://www.copaair.com/en/web/us/fleet
skyblue is offline  
Old Sep 24, 18, 12:26 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ottawa
Programs: Altitude E50K / *G
Posts: 881
Does anybody know if there are any plans to operate the 737-MAX out of YUL?

I'm flying YUL-PTY-GUA in November in J and I would love to try the new product - but I won't hold my breath
dr_torch is offline  
Old Nov 2, 18, 12:27 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Programs: AA EXP, UA 1K, DL GM, AS MVP75K
Posts: 72
For other airlines that already have the 739, to differentiate they code it "7M9" - but CM/Copa, not having any other 739's just codes it 739 per their reservations staff and airlines systems.

A huge difference in biz class - not much in coach. And it's not that consistent yet in the fleet, and I imagine subject to substitution - but definitely headed in a better direction, unlike others [cough cough...AA] who use new equipment as an opportunity to make it worse for all classes.
beyond is offline  
Old Nov 2, 18, 10:59 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: YYZ/MGA
Programs: AA 1MM Lifetime Gold, AA Platinum, WS Gold, Marriott Bonvoy Gold
Posts: 7,602
Originally Posted by broland View Post
Copa announced today the new B737-MAX9 configuration: business class (2-2-2) with lie flat seats; economy max (3-3) is the new premium economy and main cabin (3-3).
Pictures here: http://www.milhasedestinos.com.br/co...cama-b737-max/
Not 2-2-2 which would be pretty poor width for J/C in a 737, so it's 2-2
ricktoronto is offline  
Old Nov 17, 18, 6:13 am
  #10  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: GIG
Programs: AAdvantage Plat Pro 1MM, Smiles/GOL Diamond, TudoAzul/AZUL Diamond, HHonors Gold, Accor Platinum,
Posts: 189
Oooops! Thanks!
broland is offline  
Old Nov 19, 18, 9:06 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: SJO - MAN - LAX
Programs: MileagePlus Gold, Avis PP, National EE, Lifemiles Silver, ConnectMiles Gold
Posts: 532
Flew in this 2 weeks ago. Very nice seat and big ol' screens.

In the completely lie flat position, I as a 6'3 tall person, did not completely fit.

Had to flex my knees.
Redwood839 is offline  
Old Nov 21, 18, 11:57 am
  #12  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: PHX/SFO
Programs: AA EXP; AS 75K; WN A List; UA 1K 1MM; Hyatt Globalist; Marriott AMB; Hilton Diamond (Aspire)
Posts: 51,577
Looks like the BE Diamond, which is the standard 2x2 lie-flat installation in a narrowbody aircraft (used by UA, DL, AA, among others).

It's an okay seat, but not state of the art. The small footwells (along with lack of direct aisle access) are the biggest negatives.
Kacee is offline  
Old Nov 22, 18, 12:39 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Programs: CM Gold / *A Gold
Posts: 56
Originally Posted by dr_torch View Post
Does anybody know if there are any plans to operate the 737-MAX out of YUL?

I'm flying YUL-PTY-GUA in November in J and I would love to try the new product - but I won't hold my breath
Don't hold too long, you'll pass out and bank your head on the coffee table! I was hoping for the 737 MAX on my January flight from YYZ. Alas, no dice it's the - 737-800 both ways. I don't think YYZ or YUL will be getting CM's new and shiny toy :-(
supervillian is offline  
Old Dec 3, 18, 1:24 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA (SFO)
Programs: UA 1K, UA .53 MM, Marriott Gold, Nexus, GE, TSA Pre, Hertz PC
Posts: 579
What's the easiest way to know if I'll be in the new business class seats when flying between SFO and PTY? As someone mentioned above, if Copa is showing the equipment as a 737-900, can I assume it has the new seats? Also, it looks like generally there are two departures from SFO to PTY - 1:30 AM and 8:50 PM. Any pros or cons to either flight from a service perspective?
SFOrunner is offline  
Old Dec 3, 18, 5:53 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Programs: Amex Plat, Hilton Diamond, SPG Gold, Carlson Gold, CM Presidential / *A Gold, Hertz 5*
Posts: 1,492
Originally Posted by LRMErnst View Post
What's the easiest way to know if I'll be in the new business class seats when flying between SFO and PTY? As someone mentioned above, if Copa is showing the equipment as a 737-900, can I assume it has the new seats? Also, it looks like generally there are two departures from SFO to PTY - 1:30 AM and 8:50 PM. Any pros or cons to either flight from a service perspective?
All PTY/SFO should be 737-900 from 1st December according to their site and other resources (both per day)

From experience, you only ever know once you are on the plane
pmarrsouth is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread