Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Discontinued Programs/Partners > Continental OnePass (Pre-Merger)
Reload this Page >

SQ to Start IAH-SIN via DME (Moscow) with 773ER 4x Weekly Service

SQ to Start IAH-SIN via DME (Moscow) with 773ER 4x Weekly Service

 
Old Dec 20, 2007, 8:36 am
  #61  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: DCA
Programs: Kommissar Giga-Posting Direktor, PWP; Fasano Nouveau Aristocrat; CO Platinum; BD Gold; MR Gold
Posts: 18,733
Originally Posted by Steve M
Although the source quoted by CO 1E was not attributed, the warning sounds like it came from the US State Department. I certainly would not discount the fact that at some point, someone has had problems with this, but I doubt that making an online connection on the same carrier with the same flight number (and perhaps not even getting off the aircraft, considering that the connect time at DME is 1hr15min) is going to be a problem. I'm sure this has all been worked out between SQ and the DME officials.
Yes, the source of that quote was the US State Department website.
CO 1E is offline  
Old Dec 20, 2007, 8:41 am
  #62  
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 9,740
Portions of the post that previously appeared in this space have been deleted. I would provide you with a reason why, but doing so would likely be against the TOS.

Last edited by uncertaintraveler; Dec 18, 2008 at 1:56 pm
uncertaintraveler is offline  
Old Dec 20, 2007, 8:47 am
  #63  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: new york, ny, usa
Posts: 13,536
Originally Posted by rkkwan
2. I hope this will wake up those on Smith St. CO hasn't done international expansion from IAH to Europe and Asia for ages, and has no immediate plans. Now, we have strong players EK, SQ and probably KE soon, flying right into our front yard, this is no time to procrastinate. They'll be losing important business contracts from around here if this goes on.
does it have more to do with "waking up" or more to do with aircraft? (and, if anyone (besides larry kellner) should know, it would be you, no? )

i have a feeling that continental (CO) would expand more if it had the planes (i.e., i don't think it's a "waking up" issue).
fly co to see the yanks is offline  
Old Dec 20, 2007, 9:51 am
  #64  
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Programs: AA EXP and Lifetime Gold, UA LifetMarriott Lifetime Platinum, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 1,006
"Having planes" issue can be solved by leasing planes. The question is how much CO is willing to pay to lease those planes.

I think CO is more conservative on the growth, especially compared to DL. On the other hand, it is the strong financial discipline keeps CO out of trouble during the hard time.
Bookexp is offline  
Old Dec 20, 2007, 10:15 am
  #65  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Programs: Continental Gold Elite, United Premier Executive
Posts: 6,766
Originally Posted by FWAAA
I agree completely. Yet, unlike most new international route announcements, nothing is mentioned about "pending government approval," or the like. I looked at the DOT docket site and couldn't find authorization for SQ to sell combination service between USA and Russia. It's probably there, but its application for such authority would generally be newsworthy.
SQ is free to sell such services under the US-Singapore Open Skies Agreement. The real question is whether SQ has the necessary approvals from the Russian government.
HeathrowGuy is offline  
Old Dec 20, 2007, 10:53 am
  #66  
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Programs: AA EXP; Hyatt Globalist; Marriott Titanium, Hilton Diamond, UA 1.56MM (fmr UA1K)
Posts: 5,772
Originally Posted by joslire
IAH is now in SQ's website schedules & pricing. SGN-IAH-SGN $12,061 C class. I guess that I won't be doing that for a while..
I am sure the premium classes out of IAH on SQ will be no bargain at all.
Renard is offline  
Old Dec 20, 2007, 11:12 am
  #67  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mostly AUS or rural England
Programs: BAEC redundant Bronze, AAdvantage Lifetime PLT, CO, WN, B6
Posts: 6,526
Originally Posted by HeathrowGuy
The real question is whether SQ has the necessary approvals from the Russian government.

That's OK. The Russians invented blat to resolve minor beauracratic inconveniences....
bernardd is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.