Int'l to Int'l transfer at IAH question

 
Old Feb 28, 12, 4:54 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: IAH, HOU
Programs: UA Silver, AA Plat, SPG Platinum, Hyatt Plat, HH Gold, Former CO Presidential Plat (for a day!)
Posts: 217
Int'l to Int'l transfer at IAH question

I should know the answer to this one, but I haven't had the need to do an Int'l transit route in IAH in the past.

I'll be flying in from MEX via IAH to EZE in a month. Does anybody know for 100% certain if I need to clear customs and immigration? Or is there still an in-transit lounge at IAH?

If I need to clear customs and immigration will i need to wait for any checked luggage there too? (I guess I will be told this part when checking in, but thought I'd ask here since it was related).

Thanks,

Mike
mdt76 is offline  
Old Feb 28, 12, 5:11 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: PDX
Programs: UA 1K, Marriott Plat
Posts: 11,475
Originally Posted by mdt76 View Post
I should know the answer to this one, but I haven't had the need to do an Int'l transit route in IAH in the past.

I'll be flying in from MEX via IAH to EZE in a month. Does anybody know for 100% certain if I need to clear customs and immigration? Or is there still an in-transit lounge at IAH?

If I need to clear customs and immigration will i need to wait for any checked luggage there too? (I guess I will be told this part when checking in, but thought I'd ask here since it was related).

Thanks,

Mike
You will need to clear customs and immigration but since you are on an intl connection I believe with the new "Fly-Thru" lane you can skip waiting for and rechecking your bag.
Hartmann is offline  
Old Feb 28, 12, 9:48 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: IAH
Programs: UA 1K/*G
Posts: 2,397
The lanes are called "one-stop" and your bags will be tagged "in-transit" so you will not collect them at IAH.
dbaker is offline  
Old Feb 29, 12, 2:22 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: IAH, HOU
Programs: UA Silver, AA Plat, SPG Platinum, Hyatt Plat, HH Gold, Former CO Presidential Plat (for a day!)
Posts: 217
Cool, thanks... luckily I can go through Global Entry anyways, but wasn't sure if there was an alternative lounge to go through.

Thanks,

Mike
mdt76 is offline  
Old Feb 29, 12, 4:04 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Programs: OnePass
Posts: 44
Originally Posted by dbaker View Post
The lanes are called "one-stop" and your bags will be tagged "in-transit" so you will not collect them at IAH.
Just make sure they put the "in transit" ticket on your bag. Sometimes they forget or don't realize that they should.
jjcastro is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread