Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Discontinued Programs/Partners > Continental OnePass (Pre-Merger)
Reload this Page >

Important! Previously Issued CO Tickets Exchanged/Changed After March 3

Important! Previously Issued CO Tickets Exchanged/Changed After March 3

Old Feb 22, 12, 2:43 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster

Programs: CO Platinum 1K, United 1K, SPG LT Platinum, National Executive Elite, Platinum TSA Hater
Exclamation Important! Previously Issued CO Tickets Exchanged/Changed After March 3

As a Travel Agent, I've been receiving briefings from UA along the way, but today's release is germane to CO customers as a whole, specifically around previously confirmed upgrades.

Here is the scoop - if you have a CO ticket (ticket number 005) and you need to make changes to it *after* March 3, it will need to be re-issued as a UA ticket (ticket number 016).

If this ticket has a EUA that cleared, you will lose it - but this is not a big deal as anytime you change or re-issue a ticket currently, you will lose the upgrade.

The bigger issue affects those holding upgrades on Int'l or domestic flights confirmed with SWUs, miles, etc.

Mileage upgrades on 005 tickets:

The ticketed class of service for mileage rewards does not allow for direct transfer of upgraded space to the new UA/016 ticket. The customer will need to request a re-deposit of the miles and may re-purchase the upgrade, if it is still available.

Complimentary Premier Upgrades: A customer who has received a complimentary Premier upgrade would not retain their upgrade on the new flight – they would, however, be eligible for an upgrade again if the space is available through the standard Premier upgrade process.

System-wide upgrade/Regional upgrades: SWU/RUs applied to a ticket would be re-deposited automatically into the customer’s account. If the customer chooses to apply them again on the new ticket, they may do so through united.com or calling United Reservations.