Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Newbie here- Looking for advice!

Search this Thread

Old Feb 11, 2012, 3:48 pm
Original Poster

Newbie here- Looking for advice!

Hello everyone! Thank you in advance for reading this.

I am new to credit cards flying and point systems etc so please go easy on me as I learn. I just got approved for a "OnePass Plus" card and want to make the best of it. I plan on taking a trip out of the country with my family (2 adults 2 kids needing seats 1 lap) thus I wanted to get a card that would rack up miles for my everyday purchases to increase my chances of not having to pay for 4 tickets in whole.

I am a bit confused with the rewards though. I have figured out that if you have a One Pass/ Milage plus account and shop through their link on certain sites you can get points, but how does the card work? Do I get certain points on every purchase regardless of where with the card? Does it matter if I shop through the link without the card? For instance, lets say I would like to make a best buy purchase. If I shop through the site to best buy and pay with a debit card, would the benefits of shopping directly on the site with the OnePass card be the same? I have a few things that I would like to buy but have been holding out for the physical card to get points for it. I don't need the "credit" per say as I plan on paying the balance in full before the end of the cycle, but if the store I plan on shopping through is on the site, would it matter if I didn't use my OnePass card for the purchases, in regards to how many points I would get?

I also got this card before reading about the merger, and that has me so confused as well. What advice/tips would you offer? I am working on my credit and plan on purchasing a vehicle this summer so I'm not looking to open more accounts anytime soon.

Last edited by Jeimygirl; Feb 11, 2012 at 4:12 pm
Old Feb 12, 2012, 6:43 am

Programs: American, Delta, JetBlue, United