Routing Options for Reward Travel

Old Feb 6, 11, 2:26 pm
Original Poster

Routing Options for Reward Travel

I have always been confused as to how to determine all the different routing possibilities that are allowed.

I'm trying to plan a reward booking and want figure out routing options to include a good layover/stopover.

For example, if I want to fly from EWR to CDG am I allowed a stopover in any other European city as long as there is a *Alliance flight from that city to CDG?

In general what rules govern if you are allowed to book either a layover/stopover along the route? I always see people here discuss complex routes, but it confuses me as to why they would let you bounce from city to city if there is a direct/cheaper route available. I'm pretty new to this, thanks in advance
Old Feb 8, 11, 6:08 pm

Originally Posted by Guster14 View Post
I have always been confused as to how to determine all the different routing possibilities that are allowed.

I'm trying to plan a reward booking and want figure out routing options to include a good layover/stopover.

For example, if I want to fly from EWR to CDG am I allowed a stopover in any other European city as long as there is a *Alliance flight from that city to CDG?

In general what rules govern if you are allowed to book either a layover/stopover along the route? I always see people here discuss complex routes, but it confuses me as to why they would let you bounce from city to city if there is a direct/cheaper route available. I'm pretty new to this, thanks in advance
I am not an expert, but from what I understand the answer is yes. Also people do stuff like a reward ticket to Asia with a stopover in Europe on the way. I know it doesn't make much sense that CO allows these sorts of routings, but they do. It's probably that 99% of their reward ticket users just do simple roundtrips, and they keep the fancy routings available to keep happy the very small number of frequent fliers that bother to use them.