CO 35 diverted to Gander

Old Jan 29, 11, 8:18 pm
Original Poster

CO 35 diverted to Gander

anybody know why CO 35 from LHR to IAH was diverted to Gander and held there for 8 hours on Jan 29, 2011?
Old Jan 29, 11, 9:44 pm

Not sure; checked with CO and they just told me it was diverted and not why. 8 hours divertion must have been mechanical, the flight was also late out of Heathrow.

Plane is now apparently going to Newark and not Houston.
Old Jan 30, 11, 2:39 am

It's now en route from EWR. Scheduled to land at IAH a little before 4:00AM (Sunday).
Old Jan 30, 11, 9:02 am

Programs: UA-Perma Plat, Hyatt-Sucks, HHonors - Dia., Marriott - Gold
It was a medical diversion... then crew timed out.
Old Jan 30, 11, 9:17 pm
Original Poster

First my apologies for originally posting this inquiry in the wrong forum. I am a newbie, and I wasn't sure where it belonged. (The Continental forum is located under the "Miles & Points" category, and my question is about neither miles nor points.)

Now on to the more fundamental question. CO chose to hide all information about this flight diversion (first to Gander and then to EWR) from its customers. Both online and telephone reps had no accurate information, even 8+ hours after the fact. Emergencies happen and so do crew timeouts. But don't they realize that folks get worried when their planes fall off the grid? (No cell service in gander.) I suppose that CO actually had no idea what happened to their 777, but that is an even a worse answer for customers. A little information would have been very reassuring. Remember this even occurred the same day Egypt was in turmoil. "Losing" a heavy jet was not outside the realm

Again, my apologies for the posting error.
Old Jan 30, 11, 9:25 pm

The A/C that flew CO35 and got diverted was supposed to head to NRT after that. Looks like they flew in another 772 from EWR. Doesnít appear to have affected CO7.
Old Jan 30, 11, 9:52 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist