CO F upgrade = 2x miles

Old Dec 4, 10, 6:30 pm
Original Poster

CO F upgrade = 2x miles

Hi,

I'm sorry if I am posting in the wrong forum. It's my first time posting although I've read a bunch on these forums and it has really helped me, so thank you to you all!

A couple of months ago, I was flying EWR-SFO nonstop on CO, economy, and when I was checking in online the night before the flight, I was offered an upgrade to first class. There were two options: upgrade with miles or purchase an upgrade. The main difference was that if you upgraded with miles, you would receive the same mileage from the EWR-SFO flight as your original flight class, but if you bought it with money, you would then receive the new fareclass miles, or two times as much. I bought my upgrade with money.

When I received the miles, they were actually the old fare class miles! I called in to ask about this, and they said no such thing exists and that all their upgrades only get the original fare class miles, even though I am SURE I did not mis-see something because this was one of the main reasons I bought the upgrade (the price was really cheap).

Is anyone aware of this issue or know a place that lists this rule? I tried finding it online but was unsuccessful.

Thanks very much in advance!
Old Dec 4, 10, 6:41 pm

Programs: CO Plat; UA 1K; EK Gold
Originally Posted by teammelli8080 View Post
Hi,

I'm sorry if I am posting in the wrong forum. It's my first time posting although I've read a bunch on these forums and it has really helped me, so thank you to you all!