CO and Copa

 
Old Dec 6, 09, 1:06 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Programs: none
Posts: 204
CO and Copa

Subject: Copa air
Any word yet on Copa staying with CO??
Flying with Copa in Jan.2010.
I am a CO One Pass Member. If I
fly Copa will I get credit for
the miles on CO??
Ed
dbaseworking is offline  
Old Dec 6, 09, 1:10 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: ACT/GRK/DAL/ABI/MIA/FLL
Programs: OMNIArchist, OMNIArchy!, OMNIIDGAS
Posts: 23,478
You are plenty safe for jan 2010, copa will be in onepass stil at that time.
Steph3n is offline  
Old Dec 7, 09, 8:06 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Programs: none
Posts: 204
Thnks

Thnks
This is good news.
And I do hope they will follow
sister CO into the *Alliance.
Or else its like being left alone
in the wilderness.
dbase
dbaseworking is offline  
Old Dec 7, 09, 8:49 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Programs: UA Explorer card, AA Plat, Copa Plat, IHG Plat,
Posts: 544
Copa changes baggage allowance to *A specs

COPA just today changed their baggage allowance to be in line with Star A as per this from their website


!!!!!!! Hopefully this meens they are trying to enter *A soon !!!!!!!!!!!!!



Copa Airlines announces changes in their free baggage allowance policies for Business Class and for OnePass Silver, Gold, and Platinum Elite members. These changes take effect starting on December 7, 2009.
Please see below for more information on the new policy:

Business Class passengers and OnePass Silver Elite members may check up to two (2) pieces of luggage, each weighing a maximum of 70 lbs (32 kg), without incurring additional fees
OnePass Platinum and Gold Elite members may check up to three (3) pieces of luggage, each weighing a maximum of 70 lbs (32 kg), without incurring additional fees
The combined linear dimensions requirement has not changed. In other words, each piece may have a maximum size of 62 linear inches (157 cm; length + width + height)
Pieces measuring between 63 (160 cm) and 107 (272 cm) linear inches will be considered excess baggage
Please note that pieces whose combined dimensions exceed 107 linear inches (272 cm) will only be accepted for transport as cargo
rrohio is offline  
Old Jan 27, 10, 5:39 pm
  #5  

2019 Secret Santa
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: NC
Programs: AA Lifetime Plat - 2MM miles
Posts: 8,338
I'm an AA EXP so am totally unfamiliar with Copa but there is a chance that I might need to fly them in the near future. I read thru the UA sticky, but didn't see the answer....Can I earn UA miles on Copa. I don't have a OnePass account and try to keep all my *A miles on UA.
Redhead is offline  
Old Jan 27, 10, 11:52 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Programs: Free Agent
Posts: 495
Originally Posted by Redhead View Post
I'm an AA EXP so am totally unfamiliar with Copa but there is a chance that I might need to fly them in the near future. I read thru the UA sticky, but didn't see the answer....Can I earn UA miles on Copa. I don't have a OnePass account and try to keep all my *A miles on UA.

As of now, no. Copa flights can only be credited to CO Onepass.
AdamSouthFL is offline  
Old Jan 28, 10, 9:21 am
  #7  

2019 Secret Santa
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: NC
Programs: AA Lifetime Plat - 2MM miles
Posts: 8,338
Thanks Adam. Oh well I will try to ensure that I am able to fly oneworld if I have to go to Lima, but will get a OnePass account if I end up flying Copa
Redhead is offline  
Old Feb 11, 10, 4:26 pm
  #8  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,156
Copa may choose to say out of *A. Or they'll join *A. But the CEO isn't sure which is the best choice for them yet. They plan on making the decision middle of this year.

http://www.flightglobal.com/articles...-decision.html

"It's a 2010 decision. It is going to happen this year, probably towards the middle of the year," Copa CEO Pedro Heilbron told analysts today. "The decision we have to make is between Star and remaining independent. With our strong relationship with Continental, we are not going to go to another alliance,"
sbm12 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread