FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Citi | ThankYou Rewards (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/citi-thankyou-rewards-739/)
-   -   urgent! i forgot to pay a citibank credit card, what should i do now? (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/citi-thankyou-rewards/1407749-urgent-i-forgot-pay-citibank-credit-card-what-should-i-do-now.html)

DOUDOU1980 Nov 15, 12 6:59 pm

urgent! i forgot to pay a citibank credit card, what should i do now?

The deadline is 3 days ago. The amount is small, less than usd100. This is my first time. I paid it immediately. Citibank charged me the late payment fee $15. Will this late payment be reported to credit agency? What should I do now to avoid that? many thanks!

StartinSanDiego Nov 15, 12 7:05 pm

No, it shouldn't be reported as late (need to be 30 days late or more) to the credit agencies. If I have a long history with a company, I call and ask to have the late charge waived. They nearly always will waive the late fee (once a year or so) if you have a prompt payment history.

You can set up an auto pay debit for all your cards. Generally a good idea at least for the minimum payments, but I have all mine set up to pay the balance in full every month. Log in on line and follow the prompts on the payment page.

jdtravel Nov 15, 12 7:16 pm

StartInSanDiego summed it up perfectly.

LizzyDragon84 Nov 16, 12 8:22 am

You may also get hit with a finance charge on the amount. But since it was less then $100, it shouldn't be much.

tev9999 Nov 16, 12 8:37 am

Yes - just call the number on the back of your card and ask for forgiveness. I had this happen once when I was carrying a huge 0% balance where one late payment would trigger a 29% default rate. The waived the charges and rate hike, and I became much more careful about tracking my credit card shenanigans.

ramosz83 Nov 16, 12 8:37 am