Blackout Dates ?

Old Jul 20, 18, 9:41 am
soy
Original Poster

Programs: Rapidly decreasing - BA Silver, O6 *G, HH DIA, Mrr PLT, Assorted debris
Blackout Dates ?

I am new to redeeming in the Choice program. I understand the 100 day booking window, but I am trying to figure out if there will still be rooms available once the window opens.

Do properties block award rooms during high-season or is it like SPG where if a standard room is available for cash, you can get it for points ?
The property I am looking at is in Comfort Suites in Grand Cayman which goes for 30k, so is not exactly cheap even on points. Do not want to wait only to find cash rates are thru the roof and no awards available

Appreciate any advice.
Old Jul 23, 18, 7:42 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Originally Posted by soy View Post
I am new to redeeming in the Choice program. I understand the 100 day booking window, but I am trying to figure out if there will still be rooms available once the window opens.

Do properties block award rooms during high-season or is it like SPG where if a standard room is available for cash, you can get it for points ?
The property I am looking at is in Comfort Suites in Grand Cayman which goes for 30k, so is not exactly cheap even on points. Do not want to wait only to find cash rates are thru the roof and no awards available

Appreciate any advice.
It can depend which program's properties you're talking about. You can use Choice Privileges points to book hotels in other Choice programs:

Japan (Choice Guest Club) & Scandinavian (Nordic Choice) loyalty program discussion

but they seem to have different rules for awards availability than Choices Privileges proper. For example, at least a couple of the Choice Guest Club hotels in Tokyo never seem to have award availability. (Though others do, so if you're not set on one particular property, you shouldn't have problems finding one or more Tokyo properties for most dates well enough in advance.)