Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotels and Places to Stay > Choice | Choice Privileges
Reload this Page >

Hotel Sign Stockholm; res with points now non-refundable?

Old Aug 12, 17, 6:52 pm
Original Poster

Programs: DL DM 2MM (NW+DL) FI Gold

I've been staying at Hotel Sign for several years now, always using points, as it is a good deal at 10k night.

I have a trip coming up and went to book, now there is a disclaimer note:

" I agree and acknowledge this is a prepaid, non-cancellable rate.
If you would like to choose a more flexible rate, Click here"

I clicked for a more flexible rate, and got the same rates with the same disclaimer. This disclaimer note does not show if you use any rate option other than points.

My last trip in June, I booked with points and the res was fully refundable until 4pm on day of arrival.

Tried booking at Clarion Stockholm using points, and cancellation policy there is 4pm on day of arrival, so this looks like a new policy by only Hotel Sign.

Called Choice Hotels res, and they see this disclaimer as well.

Didn't know individual hotels could do this.
Old Aug 13, 17, 7:43 am
Original Poster

Many Nordic Choice hotels now make res with points non-refundable

Just did further checking, and this disclaimer of a res made with points being a pre-paid res and non-cancellable is also on the website for these hotels in Stockholm:
Nordic Light
Amaranten
Gillet
Hotel C
At Six
HoBo
Clarion Arlanda Airport

Also checked properties in CPH and OSL, and the disclaimer is on some locations in those places as well.

Using points at Nordic Choice properties was a really good use of points.

Now with a res using points being non-refundable, the situation has changed.
Old Aug 13, 17, 3:15 pm

Programs: AZ FA+, A3 G, AB G | IHG RA, HGP D, FPC P, Accor P, BW D, HH D, Eleva, GHA P, 1862 Voyager
I just booked the Clarion Sign for Oct this year and it is cancellable up to 1 day prior to check in.