Feedback from a road warrior

Old May 18, 16, 9:13 am
Original Poster

Location: BTR; SWA Elite, SPG Plat, Marriott Plat, Choice Diamond
Programs: Delta, SWA
Choice feedback, from a road warrior

I'm a small business owner with a large territory. I do enough to keep my platinum at Marriott and SPG, but Choice is my main.

Pros of Choice:
-they're rarely sold-out so you can use the app to book once you're 100% sure that's where you're staying. I frequently book from the parking lot.
-Choice app is perhaps the best app in travel, I search a wide area and sort by price then read reviews.
-Great prices. Allows me to travel more often.
-Early check-ins! I love that I can arrive to a city in the morning and check-in before my appointments. SPGs and Marriotts are usually sold out and hate early check-in.
-Awesome promos.
-Properties in small towns, helps me get a feel for the community rather than driving in.

Cons:
- Worst in the world when trying to cancel a reservation. I never book until I'm 100% that's where I'll be staying.
-Many untrained front desk
-The "elite reservation line" is same foreigners who can't do anything as the regular line (dramatic difference from Marriott and SPG platinum desk where calling is a pleasure).
-Many properties try to photocopy my license!! What? That's insulting, invasive, and absurd. Especially for a Diamond member. Worried I'm going to steal your thin towels and wobbly lamps? I always refuse, sometimes I have to leave and book elsewhere. Massive invasation of privacy.
-Some properties see themselves as independent that partners with choice. "Oh you booked thru the Choice site" like its a lower class.
-Never ever offered upgrades. Even if completely empty, hotels place me in the exact room I book, leaving their best rooms vacant. If I ask, they talk about "rate change", the concept is so foreign to them.

My main feedback is: Choice needs to do more for their best customers. Overall I remain satisfied, it's good, but could be great.