late check out

Old Jun 25, 2010, 2:31 am
Original Poster

late check out

hi i just joined choice privileges and it said i can get late checkout at 2 pm
how does this work exactly? it said I have to ask before I check out but I remember trying this a long time ago and they said it is not guaranteed
Old Jun 25, 2010, 3:30 am

Programs: SPG Lifetime Plat, AA Gold, UA Gold, DL Silver, HH Gold, Vail Epic
I have no experience with this at Choice hotels, but the T&Cs say this:

"Extended check-out upon request (up to 2:00 p.m. local hotel time at all hotels in the U.S., Canada, Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean or up to 2 hours past standard check-out at hotels in Europe, the Middle East, Australasia and most of our international locations). Must be requested before posted check-out time."

It sounds guaranteed to me. Whether anyone at the corporate level will actually enforce it and hold individual hotels accountable, I don't know.
Old Jun 25, 2010, 2:13 pm

Programs: Choice Privileges Diamond, Hertz #1 Gold, National EA, Avis First, HHonors Silver, Delta Skymiles
It's very inconsistent from property to property. I've been told by the front desk of a Comfort Inn in Myrtle Beach that they were required to honor a late checkout request, a Sleep Inn in Georgia gave me a late checkout without me asking("oh-you're CP, you can stay till 2"), and a Sleep Inn in Columbia wouldn't go past noon and didn't even want to go that late. Your best bet is to request it at check-in from the night desk clerk as the day shift folks are more interested in getting you out the door and the room turned around and will try to get you to settle for noon or 1pm instead of 2pm.
Old Jun 25, 2010, 2:44 pm