How to get a large amount of money out of China

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

How to get a large amount of money out of China

Search this Thread

Old May 9, 2019, 11:10 pm
Original Poster

Some of you who remember me from several years ago when I posted more often may remember that I am a lawyer. I know that trying to break up cash amounts to evade reporting it is a crime and nothing that I am going to consider messing with. Furthermore, I don't think carrying a large amount of cash is wise.

Unfortunately, most of my deceased wive's relatives are not that sophisticated and I will have to do most of the heavy lifting on my end. I will give the relatives my bank's Swift number and my son's account no. and ask them to present those numbers to the bank ahead of time. If we can wire it fine, if not hopefully we can take a check made out to my son.

I do know a former tutor of my daughter who used to work in banking and I will check with her and find out what she thinks.
Old May 10, 2019, 1:27 am
:D!
Hilton Contributor BadgeIHG Contributor Badge

Programs: BA Diamond, Hilton Bronze, A3 Diamond, IHG *G
Originally Posted by moondog
If I were to give you 9k in hard cash, there is no way in hell that the US people would have a clue.
So it's OK to commit a crime because you won't get caught?
Old May 10, 2019, 2:12 am
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Originally Posted by :D!
So it's OK to commit a crime because you won't get caught?
I still fail to understand how giving his son 9k is a crime.

That having been said, I do think the wire transfer approach makes more sense. However, some banks are clueless about this stuff, so it's important to run it by them before trying. The check approach, by contrast, seems likely to fail.
Old May 10, 2019, 2:24 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: UA 1K 0.9MM, Marriott Gold, HHonors Gold, Hertz PC, SBux Gold, TSA Pre✓
I still fail to understand how giving his son 9k is a crime.
I believe OP makes this very clear about this: