Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Asia > China
Reload this Page >

Vancouver -> Taiwan -> China -> Vancouver

Old Apr 11, 18, 12:22 am
Original Poster

Hey, I am a Canadian resident going back to Taiwan to visit friends. On the way, looking to travel to Mainland China and back to Vancouver from China. With a Taiwanese Mainland Travel Permit, I am able to enter China from Taiwan but what's confusing me is exiting. Since I don't have a Chinese Visa on my Canadian passport, am I allowed to exit China with the Taiwanese Mainland Travel Permit even though I'm flying back to Vancouver?
Old Apr 11, 18, 10:17 am
Moderator: Delta SkyMiles, Luxury Hotels, TravelBuzz! and Italy

Welcome to Flyertak, xRoyalPhantom
I am moving your thread over to the FT China Forum. Please follow there.
Thanks..
Obscure2k
Travelbuzz Moderator
Old Apr 11, 18, 11:49 am
Moderator: Cathay Pacific Asia Miles and Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer

Programs: MPC,CA,MU,AF
Originally Posted by xRoyalPhantom View Post
Hey, I am a Canadian resident going back to Taiwan to visit friends. On the way, looking to travel to Mainland China and back to Vancouver from China. With a Taiwanese Mainland Travel Permit, I am able to enter China from Taiwan but what's confusing me is exiting. Since I don't have a Chinese Visa on my Canadian passport, am I allowed to exit China with the Taiwanese Mainland Travel Permit even though I'm flying back to Vancouver?
I did HKG-PVG-NRT, HKG-PVG-SFO, and HKG-PEK//TNA-TPE a few times, entering with my HRP and exiting with my HRP. They did sometimes ask for my travel document to enter another country, and I showed them my US passport. They sometimes took a look inside, but I never had any problem. However: