Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Friendly US border control

Search this Thread

Old Apr 1, 2013, 5:01 pm
Original Poster

Friendly US border control

I actually had a nice entry experience to the USA a week ago. I came to SAN on the BA flight from LHR. Purpose of your visit - tourism, declearing anything? I had ticked yes on food, yes - just some rolls etc (nothing serious but better be honest with these guys) also slightly over the limit with alcohol which I also decleared. Was through the whole procedure within 15 seconds. I hold a Norwegian passport, I had a US student visa when I studied here two years ago, still a student in Norway travelling alone. I had expected the worst, but probably they saw me as a safe bet since I had a US visa before (which is indeed a complicated process to get) and holding a passport from a country which goes very well in terms of economy.

Point is you can have a friendly experience with the US border control. Probably I was an exception or well I don't know. I was just suprised over that it went so smooth when I had expected a whole bunch of questions...
Old Apr 1, 2013, 6:25 pm

Be sure not to identify them - they'll be fired for incompetence
Old Apr 1, 2013, 7:12 pm
Suspended

Programs: A3, AA. Plasticy things! That give me, y'know, Stuff!
Now that they've lulled you into a false sense of security...
Old Apr 1, 2013, 8:49 pm

Sounds like the routine I almost always get on arrival....

I don't doubt the horror stories I read here and elsewhere (well.. one tends to attribute some of it to hyperbole) but I have never had a problem...

The "worst" I see is the odd Immigration agent who is... well...disinterested.
Old Apr 2, 2013, 12:06 am

Programs: BA Gold, LH FTL, KL/AF Ivory