Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Credit, Debit and Prepaid Card Programs > Chase | Ultimate Rewards
Reload this Page >

Sapphire Preferred & Freedom Unlimited Setup

Old Sep 6, 2021, 5:41 pm
Original Poster

Hi all!

I'm new here and this is my first post, so please excuse the noob question

I'm completely new to the cards/points game, so I was wondering if the CSP & the CFU is a good setup? I've had the CFU for about a year and have been slowly accumulating UR points. I plan to travel extensively after I graduate, so I thought it would be good idea to now start banking as many UR points as I can. I saw the 100,000 UR bonus offer for the CSP so I applied and was approved!

I'm tying to maximize my UR point accumulation, and from what I calculate, which could be completely wrong lol, it seems after I hit the $4,000 spending requirement I should switch back to my CFU card for monthly spending. Does that seem correct to everyone? Please correct if I am wrong, but doesn't the 1.5x points on everyday purchases on the CFU outweigh the 10% yearly point bonus on the CSP? Am I going on the right direction or am I missing something?

Thanks for the help! Really looking forward to traveling like you all one day!
Old Sep 6, 2021, 7:52 pm
mia
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend; Moderator: American Express, Capital One, Citi, Chase, Credit Card Programs, Diners Club, Signatures

Programs: AA & Marriott Perpetual Platinum; DL & HH Gold
Originally Posted by RNinProgress
.... doesn't the 1.5x points on everyday purchases on the CFU outweigh the 10% yearly point bonus on the CSP?
Welcome to Flyertalk. the 10% bonus means Sapphire Preferred earns 1.1 point per dollar versus Freedom Unlimited's 1.5, however Sapphire Preferred earns more when paying for Travel, Online Groceries, some Streaming services and at Restaurants. To maximize earnings you should use Sapphire Preferred in those categories, and Freedom Unlimited only in non-bonus categories.
philemer and GTITAN like this.