Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Credit, Debit and Prepaid Card Programs > Chase | Ultimate Rewards
Reload this Page >

Using Chase UR to travel to Asia [Consolidated]

Old Feb 3, 14, 2:46 pm
Original Poster

I'm new to Flyertalk and had a question about planning my trip. I recently got my Chase Freedom/Sapphire Preferred Combo and should be racking up the sign on bonus (60000) + around 10000 UR points in the next few months. I also have around 18,000 United Mileage Plus miles, and around 52,000 Delta Skymiles.

I am going to India at the end of the year with a stopover in the Middle East, and I was wondering what the most optimal way to plan my trip would be? I know the United Mileage Plus miles have been devalued and even economy seats to this area have been affected. Also, I know there is no direct UR -> Skymiles conversion, so I may just use up the Skymiles for some domestic travel.

Can anyone provide good suggestions regarding optimal use of my UR points and miles? I can probably sign up for one more card after 3 months, but I am not sure if the bonus on that will kick-in in time to book my trip. I would obviously prefer to travel in business class, at least one way, but if that is not possible coach is also fine. I just want a good bang for my buck (cent/mile).

Any replies will be great! Thanks
Old Feb 3, 14, 6:35 pm

It looks like United is your best transfer partner option, with the 18K in hand, even after the devaluation. The SkyMiles are tough because Delta doesn't let you book one-way awards, and 52K is not enough for a TATL or TPAC round trip. However, if you can only price things out to work in economy, you may be better off with an advance purchase bargain-basement paid fare rather than award travel. You could then use the UR for some free hotel nights, for example.