Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Credit, Debit and Prepaid Card Programs > Chase | Ultimate Rewards
Reload this Page >

UA 50K miles chase card award rescinded:( [due to previous UA Visa]

Old May 1, 10, 7:31 pm
Original Poster

I am pretty new to this, and dont know if others have had a similar issue..

I already had a United card with chase(i dont even know when i had applied) and now applied for the United card again. No issues, they directly sent me the card. Now I get a letter stating that since I already have a card, I wont be able to get the 50K signup bonus because its only for new members....

Is there a way to work around this???....the 50K would really help!
Old May 1, 10, 7:52 pm

Originally Posted by shomethemiles View Post

I already had a United card with chase(i dont even know when i had applied) and now applied for the United card again. No issues, they directly sent me the card. Now I get a letter stating that since I already have a card, I wont be able to get the 50K signup bonus because its only for new members....

Normally bonuses only work for 1st time sign ups for the particular card at Chase.
Old May 2, 10, 11:38 am

Originally Posted by shomethemiles View Post

Were both cards exactly the same type of MP program cards , e.g. both were MP platinum, gold MP cards ?
Old May 2, 10, 12:13 pm

Programs: UA, DL, AA, Sutherlands Lumber
MilesBuzz Business Law Clinic:

An agent of a company or someone who convinces a customer (s)he is an agent of a company makes an offer. If accepted, the company is required to perform.

In this case, an agent or someone posing as an agent assures a Chase/United Visa applicant that C/AV will provide that applicant a 50K FF mile bonus then C/UV is obligated to comply with this obligation.....regardless of undisclosed contracts or any other disclaimer.

Is this correct?

Last edited by pierre mclopez; May 2, 10 at 12:39 pm
Old May 2, 10, 12:57 pm
formerly known as Frugal Travel Guy