Wrong Frequent Flyer number - Journey complete

Old Nov 22, 19, 12:26 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Programs: AA Executive Platinum, SPG/Marriott Platinum
Posts: 259
Wrong Frequent Flyer number - Journey complete

Hello - I asked the gate agent to make sure that my AA number was attached to my ticket, but she did it only for my companion's ticket and I did not notice it till the journey ended yesterday. The flight ended up being credited to AsiaMIles instead. What is the optimal way to reverse this?
levistrauss is offline  
Old Nov 22, 19, 12:44 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: BKK
Programs: SK EBG for Life (*G), BA Gold, HH DIA, IC Platinum Ambassador, Hertz President's Circle, Sixt Plat
Posts: 783
Originally Posted by levistrauss View Post
Hello - I asked the gate agent to make sure that my AA number was attached to my ticket, but she did it only for my companion's ticket and I did not notice it till the journey ended yesterday. The flight ended up being credited to AsiaMIles instead. What is the optimal way to reverse this?
I would expect that sadly, you are entirely out of luck with this.
SKT-DK is offline  
Old Nov 22, 19, 2:24 am
  #3  
Ambassador, Hong Kong and Macau
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: HKG
Programs: Depends
Posts: 14,898
Not if you do not have pretty high status with Marco Polo
percysmith is online now  
Old Nov 22, 19, 3:02 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hong Kong
Programs: CX, UA, Shangri-La, Hyatt, Starwood
Posts: 7,613
We warmly welcome you to the Asia Miles / Marco Polo Club.
QRC3288 is offline  
Old Nov 22, 19, 3:07 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Programs: AA Executive Platinum, SPG/Marriott Platinum
Posts: 259
No Marco Polo status, but I am Executive Platinum with AA.

I always wanted to be a Marco Polo elite but not like this, ha ha - but seriously, is there really nothing I can do?
levistrauss is offline  
Old Nov 22, 19, 3:08 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Programs: AA Executive Platinum, SPG/Marriott Platinum
Posts: 259
Originally Posted by QRC3288 View Post
We warmly welcome you to the Asia Miles / Marco Polo Club.
Thank you Kind Sir! Oh man!
levistrauss is offline  
Old Nov 22, 19, 3:48 am
  #7  
Ambassador, Hong Kong and Macau
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: HKG
Programs: Depends
Posts: 14,898
Originally Posted by levistrauss View Post
Hello - I asked the gate agent to make sure that my AA number was attached to my ticket, but she did it only for my companion's ticket and I did not notice it till the journey ended yesterday. The flight ended up being credited to AsiaMIles instead. What is the optimal way to reverse this?
Originally Posted by QRC3288 View Post
We warmly welcome you to the Asia Miles / Marco Polo Club.
Originally Posted by levistrauss View Post
I always wanted to be a Marco Polo elite but not like this, ha ha - but seriously, is there really nothing I can do?
Originally Posted by levistrauss View Post
Thank you Kind Sir! Oh man!
(Probably crossed the border into Omni/PR but I pray indulgence for a one-off) You're now like voting for the CCP this weekend (or its connecting partners like the DAB) by mistake and you're now begging the returning officer (ahem!) to let you have a do-over...

Edit 25/11: Make a retro mileage claim. But AA will mark your claim "TENDERED" https://www.reddit.com/r/HongKong/co...mber_was_used/
Isochronous, tentseller and :D! like this.

Last edited by percysmith; Nov 24, 19 at 7:36 pm
percysmith is online now  
Old Nov 22, 19, 4:10 am
  #8  
sxc
Moderator, Cathay Pacific
Accor Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Programs: CX Green, BAEC Gold, QF Gold, Hyatt Glob
Posts: 9,835
Just wondering why you had the Asia miles number in the booking in the first place since you have AA status, and you didn’t want to build CX status?
nancypants likes this.
sxc is offline  
Old Nov 22, 19, 4:23 am
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Programs: AA Executive Platinum, SPG/Marriott Platinum
Posts: 259
Originally Posted by sxc View Post
Just wondering why you had the Asia miles number in the booking in the first place since you have AA status, and you didnít want to build CX status?
It's the default in my Cathay profile. Even if I change it to AA on the website it always defaults to Asia Miles and I ask the Gate Agents to change it for me. This time I did exactly the same thing except I didnt check my tickets after she handed it to me. They changed my wife's number but didn't change mine. This is on me as I really should have double checked the tickets.
levistrauss is offline  
Old Nov 22, 19, 4:25 am
  #10  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Programs: AA Executive Platinum, SPG/Marriott Platinum
Posts: 259
I am fine begging for mercy, a one time indulgence etc - but what is the optimael method? I am going to be in HKG in 10 days, but I fear it might be too late.
levistrauss is offline  
Old Nov 22, 19, 4:29 am
  #11  
sxc
Moderator, Cathay Pacific
Accor Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Programs: CX Green, BAEC Gold, QF Gold, Hyatt Glob
Posts: 9,835
You might want to create a new “registered account” which allows you to manage your CX bookings without using an Asia miles number.
sxc is offline  
Old Nov 22, 19, 5:08 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: MSP
Posts: 22
It seems that I may be SOL as well. I had entered in my Alaska miles online, but it looks like the miles were attributed to my AA account. Im assuming there is no recourse?

Edit: Just checked my boarding pass and it says AS, but manage my booking says AA. Any idea where it gets credited to? This is weird.

Last edited by triks; Nov 22, 19 at 5:38 am
triks is offline  
Old Nov 22, 19, 7:20 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,767
While I have no input on how to reverse it, I can offer some insights with changing FF#s. I travel with a laptop (maybe I shouldn't, but...), and up to almost anytime before the flight, I can log onto the US CX site changing FF#s, even having different FF#s for each respective flight on the PNR.

At least, in my experience, CX is extremely generous in allowing one to use his/her MPC FF# for elite benefits (seat selection, lounge & boarding), then changing it to another FF# pre-flight. I recall being surprised when a lounge rep suggested it as an option; I asked if CX would ok with that, and her reply was, "Why not? Let me write down your MPC number here so you can have priority boarding."
percysmith likes this.
Visconti is offline  
Old Nov 23, 19, 3:16 am
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hong Kong
Programs: FB AF Silver, BA Gold
Posts: 11,518
Originally Posted by levistrauss View Post
I am fine begging for mercy, a one time indulgence etc - but what is the optimael method? I am going to be in HKG in 10 days, but I fear it might be too late.
Unless your AA number is on your BP rather than your CX number, begging on your knees will achieve nothing.
brunos is offline  
Old Nov 23, 19, 1:59 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: LON
Programs: BAEC, Accor
Posts: 1,475
Originally Posted by Visconti View Post
While I have no input on how to reverse it, I can offer some insights with changing FF#s. I travel with a laptop (maybe I shouldn't, but...), and up to almost anytime before the flight, I can log onto the US CX site changing FF#s, even having different FF#s for each respective flight on the PNR.

At least, in my experience, CX is extremely generous in allowing one to use his/her MPC FF# for elite benefits (seat selection, lounge & boarding), then changing it to another FF# pre-flight. I recall being surprised when a lounge rep suggested it as an option; I asked if CX would ok with that, and her reply was, "Why not? Let me write down your MPC number here so you can have priority boarding."
This isn't sneeky, there is a formal way of doing this properly assuming you can find an agent who knows how to do and not mess it up.

In the booking system there are a few fields for FFP data

FQTV - FreQuent Traveller a/c to credit for Value
FQTS - FreQuent Traveller a/c to use for Status
FQTR - FreQuent Traveller a/c used for Redemption
FQTU - FreQuent Traveller a/c used for Upgrade

The main one, the customer facing one, and the one that you update via the web is FQTV.

If you want to use another program for status without it being credited then you can try to get an agent to put this into FQTS, if it's done right this means you can be recognised as having status before and throughout your journey without needing to flip your FFP number at some point during the journey.
Visconti and royng like this.
plunet is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread