Applying different FF programs by leg

Reply

Old Jun 18, 18, 10:18 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Programs: DL Diamond, AA Plat, HHonors Diamond, National Executive
Posts: 60
Applying different FF programs by leg

Apologies in advance if this shouldn't be in the CX forum.

I've got an itinerary flying roundtrip on CX from YVR-HKG-XMN. I typically use my Alaska MP FF for CX flights, but the HKG-XMN leg is in CX Dragon which do not accrue miles on ASMP. I noticed that in the CX website, it looks like it allows me to apply different FF#'s by leg, so I was thinking of adding my AA FF on the Dragon legs. Has anyone done this before and had any issues? It's not many miles, so I wouldn't want to cause any complications for a low set of miles.

Thanks.
seatownflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 18, 4:30 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hongkong, China / Manila, Philippines / California, USA
Programs: CX MPO AM / AA / Marriott / Shangri-La
Posts: 255
I've done something similar, where Its LAX-HKG-MNL on PE but say the HKG-MNL (due to plane availability) is only Y so the LAX-HKG, i'd credit it to my main FFP, AA, and the HKG-MNL, i'd credit it to CX MPO, since it has better value to me (including keeping the MPO alive) than crediting an economy seat to AA.

Typically if it was LAX-MNL, i'd tell the counter to credit the flight to AA first and the next leg to CX, while say if it was the reverse, MNL-LAX, i'll have them credit it CX first (if the flight is Y only) and the long haul to AA. Just doublecheck on your boarding pass.

Note though if you have a better status on one FFP over the other this may impact your changes for things like OP-UP.
cartman7110 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 18, 6:18 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Programs: DL Diamond, AA Plat, HHonors Diamond, National Executive
Posts: 60
Originally Posted by cartman7110 View Post
I've done something similar, where Its LAX-HKG-MNL on PE but say the HKG-MNL (due to plane availability) is only Y so the LAX-HKG, i'd credit it to my main FFP, AA, and the HKG-MNL, i'd credit it to CX MPO, since it has better value to me (including keeping the MPO alive) than crediting an economy seat to AA.

Typically if it was LAX-MNL, i'd tell the counter to credit the flight to AA first and the next leg to CX, while say if it was the reverse, MNL-LAX, i'll have them credit it CX first (if the flight is Y only) and the long haul to AA. Just doublecheck on your boarding pass.

Note though if you have a better status on one FFP over the other this may impact your changes for things like OP-UP.
It looks like the CX website allows you to enter in FF#'s by leg? Have you tried that before without issue?
seatownflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 18, 6:50 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Programs: AA,CX, BA, Priority Club, SPG, Hilton
Posts: 1,286
Originally Posted by seatownflyer View Post
It looks like the CX website allows you to enter in FF#'s by leg? Have you tried that before without issue?
Interesting, I was reviewing this past weekend. The new CX system allows FFP by legs or switch to "same FFP" on all legs. I have no issue switching back and forth, ie from MPO to BA, and back to MPO, finally back to BA. No issue encountered. Just curious, why don't you try yourself, it's pretty easy to do it online.
Fly2Where is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 18, 10:07 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ZOA, SFO, HKG
Programs: UA 1K 0.7MM, Marriott PLT, HHonors Gold, Hertz PC, SBux Gold, TSA Pre✓
Posts: 8,983
The easiest way is manual crediting, with the potential loss of any FFP benefits.
garykung is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 18, 11:23 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: BOS/UTH
Programs: AA LT PLT & 4.28 MM, QR PLT, SPG LT PLT
Posts: 10,642
Originally Posted by seatownflyer View Post
Apologies in advance if this shouldn't be in the CX forum.

I've got an itinerary flying roundtrip on CX from YVR-HKG-XMN. I typically use my Alaska MP FF for CX flights, but the HKG-XMN leg is in CX Dragon which do not accrue miles on ASMP. I noticed that in the CX website, it looks like it allows me to apply different FF#'s by leg, so I was thinking of adding my AA FF on the Dragon legs. Has anyone done this before and had any issues? It's not many miles, so I wouldn't want to cause any complications for a low set of miles.

Thanks.
When I want to do this (which I do from time to time), I change the FF number at the gate for each flight. Request that they reprint your boarding pass, too; so you'll have documentary evidence in case there's a foul-up.
Dr. HFH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 18, 12:57 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Programs: A3 *G, AA exePlat, AS MVP 75k Gold, JL sapphire, UA silver
Posts: 2,869
I did it by phone or agent (tst office). Works perfectly. Example. Flew jfk yvr hkg. Check in at
jfk. Both boarding passes are printed. Aa emerald on yvr hkg and Alaska number on jfk yvr.

(Jfk yvr in I class and yvr hkg in r class - I am both Alaska and aa top elite)

I put different number for every segments for my 14 sectors tickets and the boarding pass printed correctly (only ay codeahare on qr and aa has problem posting)
pbd456 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 18, 11:01 am
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Programs: DL Diamond, AA Plat, HHonors Diamond, National Executive
Posts: 60
Originally Posted by Fly2Where View Post
Interesting, I was reviewing this past weekend. The new CX system allows FFP by legs or switch to "same FFP" on all legs. I have no issue switching back and forth, ie from MPO to BA, and back to MPO, finally back to BA. No issue encountered. Just curious, why don't you try yourself, it's pretty easy to do it online.
Yes, will give it a shot. I was just concerned as to whether this would cause any issues where the long haul flights get credited to AA rather than AS.
seatownflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 18, 3:20 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Programs: AA,CX, BA, Priority Club, SPG, Hilton
Posts: 1,286
Originally Posted by seatownflyer View Post
Yes, will give it a shot. I was just concerned as to whether this would cause any issues where the long haul flights get credited to AA rather than AS.
Just make sure each of your boarding pass showed the respective airlines.
Fly2Where is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: