Transitting in PVG

Old Jan 25, 18, 2:28 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2,166
Transitting in PVG

Might have to transit in PVG, not for a turnaround, but transitting from JL to CX flight on one ticket.

I read here that PVG is not really for transitting and that passengers have to clear immigration, go to landside and then clear immigration and security again. Is that so?

What about luggage? That will be tagged through, right?

Thank you.
IncyWincy is offline  
Old Jan 25, 18, 4:38 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 182
It is down to the airline pair at PVG if there is airside transfer. But since JL is at T1 and CX/KA is at T2 I strongly doubt it is eligible so I think you will need to clear immigration, take your luggage, go to T2 and depart as a regular departing passengers.
patrickw is online now  
Old Jan 25, 18, 9:10 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 766
In OP's case, yes, different terminals = no airside transit facility.

I find transit in China to be unreliable, even where facilities theoretically exist.

I did transfers through PVG Terminal 2 twice recently. In both instances, the transit desk was unstaffed. There were signs directing all passengers, including those in transit, landside through immigration. I did not have checked baggage so can't comment on how that would work.

On a side note, the No.77 China Eastern x Plaza Premium lounge is a really nice space - preferable to the dated CX lounge.
CXYYZ is offline  
Old Jan 30, 18, 10:04 am
  #4  
Ambassador, Hong Kong and Macau
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: HKG
Programs: Asia Miles. Not bothering to join Marco Polo.
Posts: 16,817
Originally Posted by warakorn View Post
You have to pass immigration, pick up your bags, go through customs, walk to T1, check in your bags, pass customs, pass immigration, pass security ...
Originally Posted by percysmith View Post
I've just confirmed (not sure what his FT handle is) that this info is current as of date.
kaka likes this.
percysmith is offline  
Old Jul 11, 18, 2:04 am
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG►VA WP►HyattGlobalist►HiltonGold
Posts: 21,536
Originally Posted by IncyWincy View Post
Might have to transit in PVG, not for a turnaround, but transitting from JL to CX flight on one ticket.

I read here that PVG is not really for transitting and that passengers have to clear immigration, go to landside and then clear immigration and security again. Is that so?

What about luggage? That will be tagged through, right?

Thank you.
Have you done this as yet?

I may have to do this later this year and I am not looking forward to it. [HND-(JL)-xPVG-(CX)-HKG] - I have 2 hours transit time.
serfty is offline  
Old Jul 12, 18, 12:10 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2,166
No need to do this transit as changed itinerary. Thank you.
IncyWincy is offline  
Old Jul 12, 18, 4:05 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG►VA WP►HyattGlobalist►HiltonGold
Posts: 21,536
Originally Posted by IncyWincy View Post
No need to do this transit as changed itinerary. ..
Thankyou ... I'm looking to change myself as all the indications are such a connection is at best a pain and at worst impractical.
serfty is offline  
Old Dec 26, 18, 9:16 am
  #8  
Ambassador, Hong Kong and Macau
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: HKG
Programs: Asia Miles. Not bothering to join Marco Polo.
Posts: 16,817
JAL CTS international connections desk (in domestic terminal) can only tag my bags as far as PVG





Even tho my BP was issued to as far as HKG




One unexpected advantage of the break tho was I was allowed to goshow an earlier PVG flight (KA809 --> KA897)
percysmith is offline  
Old Dec 26, 18, 8:54 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: HKG
Programs: BA(GGL) QF LTS CX AM, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 1,623
do you know if there is a an airside corridor that one can use if bags tagged through and onward BP issued?
ermen is offline  
Old Dec 26, 18, 9:51 pm
  #10  
Ambassador, Hong Kong and Macau
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: HKG
Programs: Asia Miles. Not bothering to join Marco Polo.
Posts: 16,817
Originally Posted by ermen View Post
do you know if there is a an airside corridor that one can use if bags tagged through and onward BP issued?
If there was I didn't find it...bear in mind I am a HRP holder, PTH speaker and I read simplified Chinese enough to work there.
(I joked I do not speak Shanghainese but I don't think that's a major impediment transitting PVG...)

There was a transit exit, which I see filled with foreigners. My wife asked if we should head through that. I said we shouldn't, that looked like TWOV. Even if we can get through that exit on HRPs we will be refused passage through that point because our departure is T2.

Even if it existed, it will have to be an airside bus rather than a corridor.
It was a solid 10 min walk min from T1 to T2, between two buildings (15 since we were towing luggage)

Last edited by percysmith; Dec 26, 18 at 10:11 pm
percysmith is offline  
Old Dec 27, 18, 2:52 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: HKG,SIN,CAN
Programs: CX MPC Gold, HU FWC Gold
Posts: 105
Originally Posted by percysmith View Post
If there was I didn't find it...bear in mind I am a HRP holder, PTH speaker and I read simplified Chinese enough to work there.
(I joked I do not speak Shanghainese but I don't think that's a major impediment transitting PVG...)

There was a transit exit, which I see filled with foreigners. My wife asked if we should head through that. I said we shouldn't, that looked like TWOV. Even if we can get through that exit on HRPs we will be refused passage through that point because our departure is T2.

Even if it existed, it will have to be an airside bus rather than a corridor.
It was a solid 10 min walk min from T1 to T2, between two buildings (15 since we were towing luggage)
T1 and T2 no connection
Only customer in T1 who travel with MU/MU code share are eligable for transit counter
(Since JV, JL & MU are located in T1)

offical PVG/SHA website for transit procedure
http://www.shanghaiairport.com/en/cj...225640021.html
pochi is offline  
Old Dec 27, 18, 3:04 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Vietnam & USA
Programs: Delta PM
Posts: 446
Originally Posted by pochi View Post
T1 and T2 no connection
Only customer in T1 who travel with MU/MU code share are eligable for transit counter
(Since JV, JL & MU are located in T1)

offical PVG/SHA website for transit procedure
Shanghai Airport (Group) Limited
Yep. Did it two months ago on MU, very easy and pain free. Did have to go thru security once, but the pat down by the pretty female Chinese security agent made it all worthwhile.
BTW, 10x easier than PEK, which was a real hassle, with long walks, two passport controls with lines, security, etc. travelling on Air China.
wxman22 is offline  
Old Dec 27, 18, 3:11 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: HKG,SIN,CAN
Programs: CX MPC Gold, HU FWC Gold
Posts: 105
Originally Posted by wxman22 View Post
Yep. Did it two months ago on MU, very easy and pain free. Did have to go thru security once, but the pat down by the pretty female Chinese security agent made it all worthwhile.
BTW, 10x easier than PEK, which was a real hassle, with long walks, two passport controls with lines, security, etc. travelling on Air China.
transit is a nightmare in China's airport
Even MU/FM in SHA/PVG
CA in PEK
CZ in CAN
3U in CTU
ZH in SZX

NIGHTMARE even is their hub
pochi is offline  
Old Dec 27, 18, 5:34 am
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Shanghai
Posts: 33,033
Originally Posted by pochi View Post
transit is a nightmare in China's airport
Even MU/FM in SHA/PVG
CA in PEK
CZ in CAN
3U in CTU
ZH in SZX

NIGHTMARE even is their hub
It's certainly NOT a nightmare if you don't change terminals.

Last edited by moondog; Dec 27, 18 at 5:35 am Reason: NOT
moondog is offline  
Old Dec 27, 18, 6:02 am
  #15  
Ambassador, Hong Kong and Macau
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: HKG
Programs: Asia Miles. Not bothering to join Marco Polo.
Posts: 16,817
Originally Posted by moondog View Post
It's certainly NOT a nightmare if you don't change terminals.
No politics in the below, you know me.

However I find the transit experience still crying for improvement
- I have a HRP. I can imagine the poor sods in the TWOV queue (doing a genuine transit and not trying to engineer a transit into China)
--- even that's not perfect, our e-Channels needed to be manually released (strange, my HRP works in KMG and Lohu e-channels since replacement)
- not being able to send bags airside is a downer
--- some of the more prolifigate shoppers of my travelling friends worry about buying too much for PRC (even if okay for HK) (it's the reverse of the HK milk powder restriction yuropflyer railed about)
--- for me it was the useless time wasted queuing for an unnecessary customs inspection
- PRC airports are still the only airports where I am guaranteed to set off the metal detector despite emptying my pockets and taking off my belt

This compared to on my way to Japan I had to transit Taipei...admittedly it was the same terminal (actually the same plane) but there was no baggage issues there (they don't even do much of a docs check)

Well at least:
- enough walkways. It certainly wasn't the worst tow I had to do
- no 25,000 JPY taxis like HND-NRT on a peak day
- adequate waiting areas, unlike BOM
- the connection is not an overnight, unlike DOH - I do not need to fight for a bench

Would I do it again? Probably won't get the opportunity to anyway. Maybe a cheap MU-MU ticket is the only case.
percysmith is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: