Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Americas > Canada
Reload this Page >

Passport necessary for a layover in Canada

Passport necessary for a layover in Canada

Old Jul 14, 08, 4:15 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Programs: UA1K 3MM, AS MVP 75K Gold
Posts: 2,697
Passport necessary for a layover in Canada

I'm on a UA flight from HNL-ANC with a layover in Vancouver and changing to a Air Canada codeshare.

When I tried to check in on-line, it asked for my passport information. Why would I need a passport for a three hour layover?
honmani2 is offline  
Old Jul 14, 08, 4:16 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Programs: statusless these days
Posts: 19,558
Originally Posted by honmani2 View Post
I'm on a UA flight from HNL-ANC with a layover in Vancouver and changing to a Air Canada codeshare.

When I tried to check in on-line, it asked for my passport information. Why would I need a passport for a three hour layover?
No sterile transit. You'll need to preclear U.S. entry even though you're arriving from the U.S. even if you don't need to clear Canadian entry.
YVR Cockroach is offline  
Old Jul 14, 08, 4:18 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Programs: DL Diamond, UA 1K MM, SPG Plat For Life, Marriott Plat, Nexus/GlobalEntry
Posts: 9,198
Because you are leaving and re-entering the US. You *may* not have to clear Canadian customs at YVR however you will have to clear US customs/immigration in order to proceed on to ANC. There are US agents stationed at YVR so you will clear there before boarding the flight onward to ANC.
SEA1K4EVR is offline  
Old Jul 14, 08, 4:19 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Canada / USA
Posts: 6,046
For one, APIS requirements for the YVR-ANC leg.
YYZC2 is offline  
Old Jul 14, 08, 4:58 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Programs: UA1K 3MM, AS MVP 75K Gold
Posts: 2,697
Originally Posted by YVR Cockroach View Post
No sterile transit. You'll need to preclear U.S. entry even though you're arriving from the U.S. even if you don't need to clear Canadian entry.
Got it. I didn't know that airports weren't considered "sterile".

I'm glad I checked with all of you and that I tried to check-in on-line; otherwise, I would have gone to the airport tonight and been SOL.

What would happen if you just didn't have a passport and you thought you were going from HNL to ANC without realizing that you're entering Canada?

I guess you wouldn't be allowed to board in HNL?

Oh, a few more questions. What about check-in luggage?

And can I shop at the duty-free shop prior to "leaving" Canada for the U.S.?

And do I have to go through customs and immigration in ANC?

I guess the lesson is go to HNL-ANC via SEA.
honmani2 is offline  
Old Jul 14, 08, 5:14 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Programs: statusless these days
Posts: 19,558
Originally Posted by honmani2 View Post
Got it. I didn't know that airports weren't considered "sterile".
Even if it were, you'd still need a passport even if your origin and destination didn't require that you need one. Hypothetical example, if you were flying AA UA SFO-MEX-IAD. As a rule carry a passport wherever any itinerary contains a flight leaves the country of your citizenship or where you cannot travel w/o travel documents.


What would happen if you just didn't have a passport and you thought you were going from HNL to ANC without realizing that you're entering Canada?

I guess you wouldn't be allowed to board in HNL?
These days, yes. A few years ago, all you would have needed was ID + proof of citizenship (DL + Birth Cert for someone born in the U.S.) Now, it's pretty much a passport or passport card.


Oh, a few more questions. What about check-in luggage?
You'll have to reclear it through CBP. You either recollect it normally if you clear Canadian entry or upstairs in a special area if you can bypass Canadian entry. Ask the agent what your tag is. If it's just tagged YVR, you need to clear Canadian entry and pick it up on your way out, if tagged YVR and ANC, then you should be able to collect it upstairs before clearing U.S. customs.


And can I shop at the duty-free shop prior to "leaving" Canada for the U.S.?
Only if you clear entry into Canada. As far as booze goes, supermarket prices in Hawaii are probably much cheaper than YVR duty-free prices.


And do I have to go through customs and immigration in ANC?
With preclearance, no.


I guess the lesson is go to HNL-ANC via SEA.
Yes, that is the much easier and hassle-free route.

Did you get the ticket as one, both UA-coded flights in either direction? If so, I am surprised it is allowed
YVR Cockroach is offline  
Old Jul 14, 08, 5:18 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Florida
Programs: UA 1P, SPG
Posts: 494
Isnt a US to US flight with a canadian connection considered cabotage?
Peetyrd is offline  
Old Jul 14, 08, 5:24 pm
  #8  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,159
Originally Posted by Peetyrd View Post
Isnt a US to US flight with a canadian connection considered cabotage?
Yes, but the OP has an AC flight for one of the two segments.
sbm12 is offline  
Old Jul 14, 08, 5:27 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Florida
Programs: UA 1P, SPG
Posts: 494
Originally Posted by sbm12 View Post
Yes, but the OP has an AC flight for one of the two segments.
So simply switching carriers is a way around the rule?
Peetyrd is offline  
Old Jul 14, 08, 7:06 pm
  #10  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Programs: UA1K 3MM, AS MVP 75K Gold
Posts: 2,697
Originally Posted by YVR Cockroach View Post
Did you get the ticket as one, both UA-coded flights in either direction? If so, I am surprised it is allowed
I don't know what you mean as "one" but the routing is HNL-SFO-YVR-ANC.

The YVR-ANC segment is on AC with a UA flight number.

My return is ANC-SFO-HNL.
honmani2 is offline  
Old Jul 14, 08, 7:14 pm
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Programs: statusless these days
Posts: 19,558
Originally Posted by honmani2 View Post
I don't know what you mean as "one" but the routing is HNL-SFO-YVR-ANC.

The YVR-ANC segment is on AC with a UA flight number.

My return is ANC-SFO-HNL.
So all the flights on the outbound are UA-coded, or is at least SFO-YVR on an AC-coded flight? FWIW, you may not get denied boarding w/o a passport at HNL but will at SFO. That may be a strategy to get you on a SFO-ANC n/s flight.
YVR Cockroach is offline  
Old Jul 14, 08, 9:11 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SYD
Programs: I have commitment issues.
Posts: 345
Originally Posted by Peetyrd View Post
Isnt a US to US flight with a canadian connection considered cabotage?
a new word for me - what is "cabotage"?
alief is offline  
Old Jul 14, 08, 11:40 pm
  #13  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Programs: UA1K 3MM, AS MVP 75K Gold
Posts: 2,697
Originally Posted by YVR Cockroach View Post
So all the flights on the outbound are UA-coded, or is at least SFO-YVR on an AC-coded flight? FWIW, you may not get denied boarding w/o a passport at HNL but will at SFO. That may be a strategy to get you on a SFO-ANC n/s flight.
All the flights are UA-coded; in fact HNL-SFO-YVR are on UA metal. It's only the YVR-ANC segment that is UA-coded but AC metal.
honmani2 is offline  
Old Jul 15, 08, 1:17 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Usually on a ship looking for oil and gas; Uruguay, Malaysia, Turkey, Nigeria, Libya, Egypt, Norway, Scotland, India, Congo & Angola, next project who knows? Agreed to CC rules
Programs: AC Altitude E75K/*G, AS MVP, AF/KLM Petroleum Club, BA Blue
Posts: 1,184
Originally Posted by alief View Post
a new word for me - what is "cabotage"?
In layman's terms cabotage is the concept in law where countries restrict the ability to move cargo or passengers on domestic voyages to aircraft or ships of their own country: i.e. Air Canada cannot fly passengers between SFO and JFK, nor can UA fly YVR to YYZ. The concept began with and also applies to maritime shipping. The "Jones Act" is a piece of maritime cabotage legislation.

mpc1
a professional sailor, not a lawyer
mpc1 is offline  
Old Jul 15, 08, 1:17 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: DCA ZWU 09W
Programs: BA 2V UA SPG
Posts: 1,722
Originally Posted by alief View Post
what is "cabotage"?
a law that requires travel within one country to be carried only by that country's carriers. you're not allowed to connect in Canada, Mexico, Cuba, Armenia, etc. if only traveling between two points in the USA, and although sometimes such flights will show up on booking engines, the airline is not supposed to sell you such a ticket. similarly, although some airlines run continuation services in foreign countries (like LAX-SYD-MEL on UA), they can't pick up SYD pax going to MEL.
paytonc is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: