Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Americas > Canada
Reload this Page >

Passport necessary for a layover in Canada

Passport necessary for a layover in Canada

Old Jul 15, 08, 6:46 am
  #16  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK/Australia
Programs: BAEC Gold, UA2MM, WY Gold, QF Gold
Posts: 2,056
Originally Posted by honmani2 View Post
All the flights are UA-coded; in fact HNL-SFO-YVR are on UA metal. It's only the YVR-ANC segment that is UA-coded but AC metal.
Well, I guess you did this to yourself.
Grace B is online now  
Old Jul 15, 08, 9:57 am
  #17  
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Salish Sea
Programs: DL,AC,HH,PC
Posts: 8,977
Originally Posted by Grace B View Post
Well, I guess you did this to yourself.
True. I hope it was a good price compared to flying AS direct.
Wally Bird is offline  
Old Jul 18, 08, 7:31 am
  #18  
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NYC/NBO/SAN
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 300
Originally Posted by paytonc View Post
a law that requires travel within one country to be carried only by that country's carriers. you're not allowed to connect in Canada, Mexico, Cuba, Armenia, etc. if only traveling between two points in the USA,
This is not the case - the carrier is the key issue - not the routing. US DOT has confirmed a US carrier can sell a ticket between 2 points in the US connecting in Timbuktu if desired - they only care about the flag of the carrier. So flying AA DFW-YUL-LGA is totally, completely fine.

The gray area on this is the carrier - does a codeshare count as operated by a US carrier? I was once routed LAX-MEX-JFK when all LAX-JFK were full, with all flights being on mexicana metal with AA flt. numbers. Out of curiosity, I emailed them afterwards and DOT responded that the issue is ambiguous (and probably not that big of a deal)
jesus4jets is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: