Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Americas > Canada
Reload this Page >

Security at YYZ (2022)

Security at YYZ (2022)

Old Sep 22, 22, 9:25 am
  #106  
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC E75K, Amex Plat, NEXUS, Aman-user (not really a -junkie)
Posts: 1,718
Looks like it's now a user-generated QR code from Amex for priority access - got the email this am. Not sure if this will result in more people in the priority security line ? I usually use the priority security and then go through to Nexus... but it could theoretically increase the number of people using the priority security line.
xray is offline  
Old Oct 1, 22, 6:13 pm
  #107  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 82
AmEx benefit only works for Canadian cardholders

Was at YYZ yesterday. Scanned QR code at AmEx kiosk and got the attached message only for Canadian cardholders.



pl804 is offline  
Old Oct 1, 22, 7:16 pm
  #108  
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC, Aeroplan, Amex Aeroplan Reserve, NEXUS/GE
Posts: 6
Originally Posted by pl804 View Post
Was at YYZ yesterday. Scanned QR code at AmEx kiosk and got the attached message only for Canadian cardholders.



Didnt you get an email from Amex saying that the QR codes will be generated online and not at the kiosk? I got that not to long ago
freqflyer9 is offline  
Old Oct 2, 22, 12:00 am
  #109  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 82
No. I only just heard about the YYZ security benefit a week or two ago. I posted the photos above because my earlier question was whether this benefit was available to US cardholders. It appears the answer is no.
pl804 is offline  
Old Oct 20, 22, 10:29 am
  #110  
formerly dav662
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Programs: EVA Air , * G, QR Privilege Club S
Posts: 3,719
Flew out from YYZ on the 17th morning on domestic. It was crazy at security. The lines had gone all the way back to the wall and then had two loops back to the walkway in the middle.
Davvidd is offline  
Old Oct 20, 22, 12:40 pm
  #111  
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: miami, florida
Posts: 3,700
Originally Posted by Davvidd View Post
Flew out from YYZ on the 17th morning on domestic. It was crazy at security. The lines had gone all the way back to the wall and then had two loops back to the walkway in the middle.
T1 or T3???
sydneyracquelle is offline  
Old Oct 20, 22, 7:50 pm
  #112  
formerly dav662
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Programs: EVA Air , * G, QR Privilege Club S
Posts: 3,719
Originally Posted by sydneyracquelle View Post
T1 or T3???
T1. It was utter madness.
AnetGarti likes this.
Davvidd is offline  
Old Oct 21, 22, 10:53 am
  #113  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Programs: AC SE100k, Marriott Titanium, Accor Platinum, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 409
Just went through in T1. I was in the NEXUS line but the normal (not priority) looked like a bit of a mess and quite stretched (around 11:30am EST). I don't understand the point behind searching/testing NEXUS member laptops/equipment yet YYZ security just dumps 'priority' passengers into the supposed NEXUS line which skips the inspector...
Cerberus is offline  
Old Oct 21, 22, 6:42 pm
  #114  
formerly dav662
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Programs: EVA Air , * G, QR Privilege Club S
Posts: 3,719
Originally Posted by Cerberus View Post
Just went through in T1. I was in the NEXUS line but the normal (not priority) looked like a bit of a mess and quite stretched (around 11:30am EST). I don't understand the point behind searching/testing NEXUS member laptops/equipment yet YYZ security just dumps 'priority' passengers into the supposed NEXUS line which skips the inspector...
The priority line says Star Alliance Gold but they did not let me go thru there though that line was much smaller than the general one.
Davvidd is offline  
Old Oct 21, 22, 6:51 pm
  #115  
wjw
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Programs: Air Canada - Super Elite
Posts: 279
Originally Posted by Davvidd View Post
The priority line says Star Alliance Gold but they did not let me go thru there though that line was much smaller than the general one.
Whos they? The priority security line is managed by an e-gate not a person. Maybe you were at the Nexus line?

edit: unless you were transborder? Im thinking of the domestic/intl gates.
wjw is offline  
Old Oct 21, 22, 7:00 pm
  #116  
formerly dav662
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Programs: EVA Air , * G, QR Privilege Club S
Posts: 3,719
Originally Posted by wjw View Post
Whos they? The priority security line is managed by an e-gate not a person. Maybe you were at the Nexus line?

edit: unless you were transborder? Im thinking of the domestic/intl gates.
Yes it is a e gate and initially I was in the queue and there was a person scanning the boarding cards and when I saw the * G , I asked him if I could go there he said no. Stay here.
Davvidd is offline  
Old Oct 21, 22, 7:06 pm
  #117  
wjw
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Programs: Air Canada - Super Elite
Posts: 279
Originally Posted by Davvidd View Post
Yes it is a e gate and initially I was in the queue and there was a person scanning the boarding cards and when I saw the * G , I asked him if I could go there he said no. Stay here.
Ahh, maybe if he already scanned it it screws something up. But if it was before scanning I wouldnt have even asked just leave the line and go to the priority gate. I assume priority security was written on your boarding pass too. Worst that could happen if your *G wasnt properly linked is the e-gate would say no and then youre back where you stated.
wjw is offline  
Old Oct 22, 22, 11:04 pm
  #118  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SFOSJCOAK
Programs: AA-EXP & 1MM, AS, MR-LT Titanium, HH Gold
Posts: 7,195
Mid morning domestic departure, Security at T3 was about 35 minutes (I had no Priority).
tcook052 likes this.
allset2travel is offline  
Old Oct 23, 22, 12:25 pm
  #119  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend and Moderator: Manufactured Spending
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: YEG
Posts: 55,364
Originally Posted by allset2travel View Post
Mid morning domestic departure, Security at T3 was about 35 minutes (I had no Priority).
I also came through T3 security just now; entered at Noon and was 55-minutes also with no priority of any kind.
tcook052 is offline  
Old Oct 24, 22, 8:48 am
  #120  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Virginia
Programs: HHonors Gold, IHG Platinum, Marriott nobody
Posts: 458
Originally Posted by Cerberus View Post
Just went through in T1. I was in the NEXUS line but the normal (not priority) looked like a bit of a mess and quite stretched (around 11:30am EST). I don't understand the point behind searching/testing NEXUS member laptops/equipment yet YYZ security just dumps 'priority' passengers into the supposed NEXUS line which skips the inspector...
They searched and tested laptops at the Nexus lane at YYZ? I have never had to power on my laptop in many years.
EdofFX is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread