Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Americas > Canada
Reload this Page >

Canada officials say vaxx req for visitors, random testing to end by 30 Sept.2022

Canada officials say vaxx req for visitors, random testing to end by 30 Sept.2022

Old Sep 23, 21, 5:53 pm
  #1591  
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: British Columbia
Programs: AS MVPG100K, Marriott Ambassador, Hilton Gold
Posts: 6,618
Originally Posted by mlbcard View Post
Where in the US can you get rapid NAAT? Is that what the ID NOW test is? Clearly the PCR test with it's up to 72 hrs turnaround won't work.

Edited: I just answered my own question - yes, the ID NOW test at Walgreens is NAAT - turn around time is usually a few hours.
My last two NAAT tests at Walgreens in Phoenix returned in 74 minutes (10:00 am appointment) and 25 minutes (7:45 pm appointment)

James
Flying for Fun is online now  
Old Sep 23, 21, 6:14 pm
  #1592  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: NYC
Programs: AA 2MM, Bonvoy LTT, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 14,171
IME Walgreens NAAT turnaround time varies between 30 minutes to 6 hours.
seawolf is offline  
Old Sep 25, 21, 12:06 pm
  #1593  
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Colorado (anywhere between DEN DMM BAH)
Programs: United MileagePlus, SkyMiles, AAdvantage, NEXUS
Posts: 2,893
Originally Posted by seawolf View Post
IME Walgreens NAAT turnaround time varies between 30 minutes to 6 hours.
When I looked into it seems like rapid NAATs dose around 175 USD and many sites claim that rapid tests are generally not covered by insurance even. Whatís your take on that?
Nayef is offline  
Old Sep 25, 21, 3:45 pm
  #1594  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ORD, MDW
Programs: UA, AA, Hilton and regular member of everything else
Posts: 1,242
Originally Posted by Nayef View Post
When I looked into it seems like rapid NAATs dose around 175 USD and many sites claim that rapid tests are generally not covered by insurance even. Whatís your take on that?
ive tested myself and my kids many times at Walgreens and itís always been free. CVS also (although the took my insurance info, I never got charged). There are some locations that charge (like airports).
seawolf likes this.
mlbcard is offline  
Old Sep 25, 21, 4:04 pm
  #1595  
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Colorado (anywhere between DEN DMM BAH)
Programs: United MileagePlus, SkyMiles, AAdvantage, NEXUS
Posts: 2,893
Originally Posted by mlbcard View Post
ive tested myself and my kids many times at Walgreens and itís always been free. CVS also (although the took my insurance info, I never got charged). There are some locations that charge (like airports).
When I was looking through cvs and Walgreens and they said there are appointments for (PCR/NAAT) tests that can be scheduled and the results take 1-2 days. Nothing indicating a rapid NAAT test can be taken.
Nayef is offline  
Old Sep 25, 21, 4:59 pm
  #1596  
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC E75K, Amex Plat, NEXUS, Aman-user (not really a -junkie)
Posts: 1,719
Originally Posted by Nayef View Post
When I was looking through cvs and Walgreens and they said there are appointments for (PCR/NAAT) tests that can be scheduled and the results take 1-2 days. Nothing indicating a rapid NAAT test can be taken.
Only Walgreens, not CVS does rapid NAAT tests. You have to select "rapid diagnostic test" - the red dot. It's not available at all Walgreens locations as some only offer PCR.
seawolf, OSSYULYYZ and Nayef like this.
xray is offline  
Old Sep 25, 21, 6:12 pm
  #1597  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SFO/SJC
Programs: UA Silver, Marriott Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 14,187
Originally Posted by xray View Post
Only Walgreens, not CVS does rapid NAAT tests. You have to select "rapid diagnostic test" - the red dot. It's not available at all Walgreens locations as some only offer PCR.
this.

Iím here in the Bay Area, and the IDNow (which I think is the rapid NAAT talked about here) only appears to be available at one store nearby - in Oakland - the closest next store it lists is in Carson City, NV. I know the regular PCR tests are available at a ton of other Walgreens locations around here.
emcampbe is online now  
Old Sep 25, 21, 7:22 pm
  #1598  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: East Coast
Programs: AA CONCIERGE KEY, HILTON DIAMOND
Posts: 11,294
Hello Canadian flyers, I would greatly appreciate your help on this. According to Canada's travel web site, domestic transfers within Canada aren't allowed when the final destination is a country other than Canada. However, Canada now allows vaccinated U.S. citizens into the country for leisure purposes and hence why I'm a bit confused... I mean, if I'm allowed to enter as a vaccinated U.S. citizens and spend several days in the country, I'm not sure why I would be denied transiting to another Canadian city. The reason I ask is because there was a schedule change to my itinerary and now I'm flying MIA YYZ YUL CDG (all flights on the same day) and I'm a little worried about this. Thanks everyone for your feedback in advance.
fly747first is offline  
Old Sep 25, 21, 7:58 pm
  #1599  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: PMD
Programs: UA*G, NW, AA-G. WR-G, HH-S, IHG, ALL. TT-GE.
Posts: 2,739
Originally Posted by fly747first View Post
Hello Canadian flyers, I would greatly appreciate your help on this. According to Canada's travel web site, domestic transfers within Canada aren't allowed when the final destination is a country other than Canada. However, Canada now allows vaccinated U.S. citizens into the country for leisure purposes and hence why I'm a bit confused... I mean, if I'm allowed to enter as a vaccinated U.S. citizens and spend several days in the country, I'm not sure why I would be denied transiting to another Canadian city. The reason I ask is because there was a schedule change to my itinerary and now I'm flying MIA YYZ YUL CDG (all flights on the same day) and I'm a little worried about this. Thanks everyone for your feedback in advance.
It means you'll have to satisfy all requirements for entry in order to transit. COVID test, ArriveCAN app, etc.
seawolf and OSSYULYYZ like this.
HkCaGu is online now  
Old Sep 25, 21, 8:06 pm
  #1600  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: NYC
Programs: AA 2MM, Bonvoy LTT, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 14,171
Originally Posted by HkCaGu View Post
It means you'll have to satisfy all requirements for entry in order to transit. COVID test, ArriveCAN app, etc.
The challenge I see is ArriveCAN is going to ask for a Canadian address for quarantine plan. And it only accepts Canadian address. So you technically have to make a false declaration on this part just to be able to submit this.
seawolf is offline  
Old Sep 25, 21, 8:47 pm
  #1601  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: East Coast
Programs: AA CONCIERGE KEY, HILTON DIAMOND
Posts: 11,294
Originally Posted by seawolf View Post
The challenge I see is ArriveCAN is going to ask for a Canadian address for quarantine plan. And it only accepts Canadian address. So you technically have to make a false declaration on this part just to be able to submit this.
I would be checking bags MIA YYZ YUL CDG so I thought they would know the itinerary
fly747first is offline  
Old Sep 25, 21, 10:10 pm
  #1602  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: NYC
Programs: AA 2MM, Bonvoy LTT, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 14,171
Originally Posted by fly747first View Post
I would be checking bags MIA YYZ YUL CDG so I thought they would know the itinerary
ArriveCAN wouldnít know anything. Think of as an electronic version of a paper declaration form where there is a section requiring a Canadian address in order to submit. CBSA and probably the airline will ask for the submitted confirmation. You probably with need to enter a dummy address in order to submit and tell CBSA you are transiting.
seawolf is offline  
Old Sep 26, 21, 5:49 am
  #1603  
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: miami, florida
Posts: 3,820
Just list a YYZ airport hotel. I often (every week) do daytrips from USA to Canada (dual citizen) where I have no address. So I just put a dummy hotel. The app also asks me for every country visited in the past 14 days and Canada is not listed as an option so I always have to say none.
IndoChine likes this.
sydneyracquelle is offline  
Old Sep 26, 21, 9:24 pm
  #1604  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: East Coast
Programs: AA CONCIERGE KEY, HILTON DIAMOND
Posts: 11,294
Originally Posted by sydneyracquelle View Post
Just list a YYZ airport hotel. I often (every week) do daytrips from USA to Canada (dual citizen) where I have no address. So I just put a dummy hotel. The app also asks me for every country visited in the past 14 days and Canada is not listed as an option so I always have to say none.
Good to know!
fly747first is offline  
Old Sep 28, 21, 1:11 am
  #1605  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: SFO
Programs: United Gold *G, Nexus/GE, IHG Plat, Hilton Gold
Posts: 52
Originally Posted by emcampbe View Post
this.

Iím here in the Bay Area, and the IDNow (which I think is the rapid NAAT talked about here) only appears to be available at one store nearby - in Oakland - the closest next store it lists is in Carson City, NV. I know the regular PCR tests are available at a ton of other Walgreens locations around here.
In San Francisco, I found out that CVS does rapid PCR testing now. It's a "Community Site" if you search for a rapid test. I was very surprised to see this since most are antigen tests:



FWIW, it was a movie theatre that was closed a while back, at the corner of Van Ness and Sutter. I got my results in 45 minutes, apparently it's a rapid PCR test by Mesa Biotech. Also, I was never asked for my insurance information. It worked fine for entering YYC on Sunday.
doggz is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread