FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Canada (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/canada-462/)
-   -   Will I have any trouble entering Canada? (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/canada/2012142-will-i-have-any-trouble-entering-canada.html)

travelingdrsuz Mar 9, 2020 7:54 pm

Will I have any trouble entering Canada?

Healthy American traveler here. I'm a professor with a free spring break next week. I was planning to stay home since I had a work conference the week after in NYC, but that got postponed, of course. Last night I was playing around on Google Flights and found RTs--at the last minute--to places like Toronto and Montreal for as low as $195 (NOT in basic economy) on American (I'm elite, and also happy with AA). I see the virus is in Toronto, for example, but I am not reading anything about problems with Americans entering. Am I correct? Is there anything I should be thinking about? I was just thinking I may pop up there, see the city, take a day trip to Niagara Falls, and take advantage of the deals. Hotels are also priced well and I have a ticket on hold, but just want to be sure I am not having a brain bleep. Of course, I can always change the ticket for free right now, but the fare difference will likely be large later. There aren't any problems entering, right? So long as I don't arrive at the border hacking or something? It's so hard to tell much from the news, which likes to sensationalize everything.

RatherBeInYOW Mar 9, 2020 8:44 pm

You'll be questioned about whether you've traveled to certain high-risk areas, and if you have you may be subject to secondary inspection. Last I checked high-risk did not include the US. Even then you are not going to be denied entry to Canada based solely on your nationality or travel patterns.

Aero137 Mar 11, 2020 12:20 am