Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Americas > Canada
Reload this Page >

Transit from US to International via YVR and YYZ

Transit from US to International via YVR and YYZ

Reply

Old Aug 6, 19, 5:46 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 413
Transit from US to International via YVR and YYZ

Hello:

My family and I will respectively transit via YVR and YYZ from the US to Europe.

THanks to the good souls in this forum, I just learned that transiting requires Canadian Customs clearance.

(1) How long does this take in each of these airports? I understand that it depends on the number of flights landing at the same time. But what was your experience?

(2) At YYZ, I will an overnight transit. AC pays for my hotel under their YYZ stopover program. Will I need to collect my luggage? (The website says no, but I am not sure if it applies to an overnight transit too.) Needless to say, both flights are in the same itinerary. Since I plan to go to downtown Toronto on the next day, I'd hate to re-check my luggage 2 hours before my Europe flight. By reading forum posts, it seems like asking AC phone agents may not give me a correct answer.

(3) As a re-enter YYZ after my hotel stay, I will have to go thru' security check. Do I have to remove my shoes?

Thanks very much for your help in advance.

Last edited by Barkinpark; Aug 6, 19 at 6:03 pm
Barkinpark is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 19, 9:32 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Primarily NOVA (anywhere between IAD DCA DEN DMM BAH)
Programs: United MileagePlus, NEXUS
Posts: 199
Are all the flight legs on Air Canada?

If that's the case, these guides might help:

US-YVR-Canada domestic (YYZ)

YVR-YYZ-International

As for your checked baggage, you can ask the AC agent in the US if you need to pick it up for your overnight transit.
Nayef is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 19, 10:23 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 413
Thanks, Nayef. I did read these pages, but it seems like they are intended for same-day transit.
I guess I will do what you mentioned: just have to ask the check-in agent. Afterall, they have dealt with the same situation many times.
Barkinpark is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 19, 1:04 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: ZRH / YUL
Programs: UA, TK , Starwood > Marriott
Posts: 6,347
(3) No unless you wear particularly heavy boots or shoes that otherwise set off the metal detector (some have metal straps in their soles).
airoli is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread