Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Americas > Canada
Reload this Page >

US-to-US connection at YYZ?

US-to-US connection at YYZ?

Old Apr 29, 15, 12:53 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Programs: UA Premier 1K, Hyatt Diamond, Marriott Platinum, Hilton Gold
Posts: 52
US-to-US connection at YYZ?

Having trouble finding this scenario documented either with AC or the Pearson website.

Long story short, I am flying DTW-YYZ-EWR AC to UA on Monday. I have about 100mins and have Global Entry, so i'm not so worried about timing.

Do I have to clear both Canadian and US customs in this scenario, or is there a way to stay on the "US side" of Terminal 1?
nethead25 is offline  
Old Apr 29, 15, 12:56 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AC S100K, Accor Plat, Bonvoy Gold, HH Diamond
Posts: 29,982
You'll be dumped into the general international arrival area. From there, you can follow signs for US connections.

CBSA check may not be particularly amused with what you're doing if they happen to ask both where you're coming from and where you're going.

If you have NEXUS, I'd actually suggest clearing into Canada and then going through the GE path, as you won't have to talk to anyone.

Without NEXUS, clearing into Canada could take a while depending on traffic levels.
canadiancow is online now  
Old Apr 30, 15, 4:00 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: YOW
Programs: AC*SE100K BA-S HH-D IHG-Plat Accor-G MR-S
Posts: 3,481
You must have purchased this as two separate tickets because my understanding is that UA would not be able to sell you a US to US itinerary with a connection in YYZ.
--
13F
Seat13F_AC_CRJ is offline  
Old Apr 30, 15, 5:17 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Home:HKG formerly YYZ Business: ATL, PVG, PEK, CAN, SZX, MNL, SIN, KUL
Programs: CX, DL, Nexus/GE, APEC
Posts: 9,606
Relax!

There is no segregation of US and intl arrival at YYZ. You just look for the diversion to US connection/departure, show the CBSA agent your travel document for a quick check and you should be on your way.

To get the map and direction at the airport website use intl arrival and US departure.

US to US transit is not usually done due to it is not a fare that the American airlines are allowed to sell on one single ticket.
tentseller is offline  
Old Apr 30, 15, 10:33 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: YYZ/YVR
Programs: ACMM SE100K; *G
Posts: 1,516
Originally Posted by canadiancow View Post
CBSA check may not be particularly amused with what you're doing if they happen to ask both where you're coming from and where you're going.
CBSA shouldn't care about the connection. They shouldn't be any more or less amused than dealing with a pax connecting from international to US.
j_the_p is offline  
Old Apr 30, 15, 4:42 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Programs: UA Premier 1K, Hyatt Diamond, Marriott Platinum, Hilton Gold
Posts: 52
Originally Posted by Seat13F_AC_CRJ View Post
You must have purchased this as two separate tickets because my understanding is that UA would not be able to sell you a US to US itinerary with a connection in YYZ.
--
13F
Bingo... Planned travel from DTW-YYZ-ORD for the week and a last minute meeting popped up in EWR. A change to the ticket was pricing to be more than $1700.

Adding a YYZ-EWR-YYZ turn as a day trip ended up being a LOT cheaper.

Thanks everybody for the input. Should be fun either way.
nethead25 is offline  
Old Apr 30, 15, 9:42 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 307
Originally Posted by tentseller View Post
Relax!

There is no segregation of US and intl arrival at YYZ. You just look for the diversion to US connection/departure, show the CBSA agent your travel document for a quick check and you should be on your way.

To get the map and direction at the airport website use intl arrival and US departure.

US to US transit is not usually done due to it is not a fare that the American airlines are allowed to sell on one single ticket.
Won't work that way. OPs boarding pass from YYZ will need a CBP stamp. Obviously since US to US transits aren't not sold, there is no set up for it and the OP will have to re-clear back into the US for that stamp. This is not the same as a INT-INT cnx.
industry_killer is offline  
Old May 1, 15, 4:15 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Home:HKG formerly YYZ Business: ATL, PVG, PEK, CAN, SZX, MNL, SIN, KUL
Programs: CX, DL, Nexus/GE, APEC
Posts: 9,606
Originally Posted by tentseller View Post
Relax!

There is no segregation of US and intl arrival at YYZ. You just look for the diversion to US connection/departure, show the CBSA agent your travel document for a quick check and you should be on your way.

To get the map and direction at the airport website use intl arrival and US departure.

US to US transit is not usually done due to it is not a fare that the American airlines are allowed to sell on one single ticket.
Originally Posted by industry_killer View Post
Won't work that way. OPs boarding pass from YYZ will need a CBP stamp. Obviously since US to US transits aren't not sold, there is no set up for it and the OP will have to re-clear back into the US for that stamp. This is not the same as a INT-INT cnx.
You must be a journalist. I always get mis-quoted by them.
tentseller is offline  
Old May 4, 15, 7:34 am
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Programs: UA Premier 1K, Hyatt Diamond, Marriott Platinum, Hilton Gold
Posts: 52
US-to-US connection at YYZ?

Just made this connection. Confused a few people along the way, but it appears that it is possible to skip CBSA clearance and continue straight to the diversion at the far left of CBSA immigration for F gates to clear US Immigration only.

However ... Since I flew a regional and had to gate check, I had to clear into Canada, grab my bag off the carousel, and then proceed back into the F departures flow and clear into the U.S.

Moral of the story if trying to do this coming off a a CRJ or E145 ... Either check your bag at your origin and have them interline check it onto your continuing ticket, or pack light.
nethead25 is offline  
Old May 4, 15, 12:11 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Home:HKG formerly YYZ Business: ATL, PVG, PEK, CAN, SZX, MNL, SIN, KUL
Programs: CX, DL, Nexus/GE, APEC
Posts: 9,606
Originally Posted by nethead25 View Post
Just made this connection. Confused a few people along the way, but it appears that it is possible to skip CBSA clearance and continue straight to the diversion at the far left of CBSA immigration for F gates to clear US Immigration only.

However ... Since I flew a regional and had to gate check, I had to clear into Canada, grab my bag off the carousel, and then proceed back into the F departures flow and clear into the U.S.

Moral of the story if trying to do this coming off a a CRJ or E145 ... Either check your bag at your origin and have them interline check it onto your continuing ticket, or pack light.
The question is would they interline when dealing with two tickets across a border with CBP and CBSA.
tentseller is offline  
Old Jun 6, 16, 8:34 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,777
Hello All --

Planning to do this in a few weeks (with approx 6 hour buffer, maybe less if I SDC to a later ORD-YYZ flight) with Nexus. I'm assuming I should be okay (even if I enter Canada and then preclear back into the US)?

Planning to do an ORD-YYZ-ORD-ZZZ trip.

Thanks!
edcho is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread