Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Americas > Canada
Reload this Page > Lining up with Americans at US airport?

Lining up with Americans at US airport?

Reply

Old Oct 3, 11, 2:07 pm
  #1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Programs: AC*E50K, CX Gold, SPG Gold
Posts: 262
Lining up with Americans at US airport?

Don't know if this is the right place to post this. Feel free to move it if necessary.

I'll be flying into IAD from FRA (never flown into US from international destinations). As a Canadian, am I allowed to line up with the Americans at the border control? I have heard that we are allowed to but I just want to make sure...

Thanks!
ailiton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 11, 2:16 pm
  #2
m.y
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC *E HHonors Gold
Posts: 606
In theory, no, unless you have a Green Card. But you could try lining up in the American lines, as the lines for foreigner is very very long.
m.y is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 11, 2:22 pm
  #3
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: YVR
Programs: AC*S100K, SPG Platinum
Posts: 1,576
At IAD I've been given both answers when showing a Canadian passport to the person at the start of the queue. Sometimes put into the foreigner line, sometimes into the US line.
krayZpaving is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 11, 3:18 pm
  #4
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: YWG
Programs: Aeroplan, MileagePlus, SPG, Marriott Rewards
Posts: 2,014
On what basis can a Canadian go into the American line? Canadians aren't Americans.

I've always queued up in the foreigner line and no one has ever told me that I had an option. Believe me, if I could use the American line I wouldn't avoid transiting in US airports like the plague as I currently do.
heraclitus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 11, 3:22 pm
  #5
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: YYC
Programs: AC Basic, UA MP Gold, Marriott Gold Elite, SPG Gold, Amex Platinum
Posts: 2,931
I have stood in the USA line at EWR, LAX, and SFO with no problem at the US CBP agent. At LAX, I did have to lie to the personnel manning the US residents line up and claim that I was a US resident. However the line up people are not US CBP employees and are contractors either from the airport or specific US airline (e.g. United contractors handle the LAX T7 lineup as the whole US CBP facility is utilized by UA).

I have never had a problem infront of a US CBP officer while being in the USA residents line, holding a Canadian passport.
WR Cage is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 11, 3:35 pm
  #6
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,539
I've done it at JFK/EWR/IAH/LAX/SFO/HNL and probably some others.
Never a problem. It was from FT that I learned that trick.
tracon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 11, 3:47 pm
  #7
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto vicinity
Programs: UA 1K, AC MM E50, AA EXP, SPG P100, Marriott Plat, Fairmont Plat
Posts: 9,122
This is where Global Entry can be a time saver. On Star Alliance Megado 3, we flew from FRA-ORD. The US resident line took an hour to clear customs, non-resident line was 4 hrs. With GE, it took about 30 secs once you walked past the thousands of other people waiting in line! And it's FREE if you already have Nexus.
margarita girl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 11, 3:51 pm
  #8
 
Seat13F_AC_CRJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: YOW
Programs: AC*75K BA-S HH-D IHG-G Accor-G NEXUS
Posts: 3,138
Originally Posted by margarita girl View Post
This is where Global Entry can be a time saver. On Star Alliance Megado 3, we flew from FRA-ORD. The US resident line took an hour to clear customs, non-resident line was 4 hrs. With GE, it took about 30 secs once you walked past the thousands of other people waiting in line! And it's FREE if you already have Nexus.
+1!!

I often fly into SJU and MIA. The line marshals often call for US and Canadian passport holders to queue up in the US Resident lines. Since Global Entry... I have not queued.
--
13F
Seat13F_AC_CRJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 11, 3:52 pm
  #9
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada
Programs: UA*1K, AS MVPG75, AA EXP, BA Gold, QR Silver, Fairmont Plat, MR/SPG Gold, Carlson Gold, HH Gold
Posts: 19,162
Originally Posted by margarita girl View Post
This is where Global Entry can be a time saver. On Star Alliance Megado 3, we flew from FRA-ORD. The US resident line took an hour to clear customs, non-resident line was 4 hrs. With GE, it took about 30 secs once you walked past the thousands of other people waiting in line! And it's FREE if you already have Nexus.
yes GE is a life saver

At LAX, arrived from NZ, behind an Air France A380 - horrors.

IAD at early morning is an absolute zoo, when DXB,KWI,JNB,ACC/LOS,GRU,EZE all arrive within 20 minutes of each other.

United will now compensate their top elites for Global Entry, maybe Aeroplan will do same for SE's ... naaaaaah
rankourabu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 11, 3:56 pm
  #10
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: JAPAN
Programs: UA 1K 1MM, IC PLAT AMB, HH Gold, AVIS Pres, Hertz Gold Plus
Posts: 5,112
Originally Posted by heraclitus View Post
On what basis can a Canadian go into the American line? Canadians aren't Americans.

I've always queued up in the foreigner line and no one has ever told me that I had an option. Believe me, if I could use the American line I wouldn't avoid transiting in US airports like the plague as I currently do.
Many times the U.S. line is not much better than the Visitor one. As far as quality is concerned, they both suck.
Exleftseat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 11, 4:24 pm
  #11
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend and Moderator: Air Canada Aeroplan & Manufactured Spending
 
tcook052's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: YEG
Posts: 46,569
Originally Posted by ailiton View Post
As a Canadian, am I allowed to line up with the Americans at the border control?
No, not technically but in reality I and am sure many others do it often and nothing has ever been said to me after a few dozen times over the past 10+ years.

That won't be the case once my Nexus card finally arrives soon.
tcook052 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 11, 4:51 pm
  #12
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: YYC
Programs: AC SE100K, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 3,934
Originally Posted by heraclitus View Post
On what basis can a Canadian go into the American line? Canadians aren't Americans.

I've always queued up in the foreigner line and no one has ever told me that I had an option. Believe me, if I could use the American line I wouldn't avoid transiting in US airports like the plague as I currently do.
Canadians generally get away with it because the process for checking them is identical to an American. Swipe passport, ask question, make approve/refer decision. Some small visa stuff occasionally, but normally we're as easy as they are. So the agents just really don't care as it doesn't affect their throughput.

OTOH, if a visa-required national went into the US line, you can bet they'd be sent back to the other line as the officer has no interest in holding up his booth for 15 minutes.
rehoult is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 11, 6:13 pm
  #13
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 227
Originally Posted by EXLEFTSEAT View Post
Many times the U.S. line is not much better than the Visitor one. As far as quality is concerned, they both suck.
+1. The "you suck" goes to both US and Canadian immigration and customs officials. What is it with all those 20-questions?
InTheShed is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 11, 6:37 pm
  #14
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: YYZ Realistically, YKZ Aspirationally
Programs: AE Diamond, SPG Gold, IHG Plat AMB
Posts: 365
My understanding is that CBP cares about visa validation versus expediTed clearance. The line is US Citizens/Residents and foreigners but Canadians clear US customs without Visas or ESTA unlike everyone else.
BackSlash3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 11, 6:39 pm
  #15
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,081
If you're flying with luggage, is GE that much of an advantage? Don't you have to wait for your bags anyway? Or is it different from Canada in that you get your bags and then go through immigration?
mabramovich is offline  
Reply With Quote
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 4:10 am.

Home - News - Forum - Hotel Reviews - Glossary - Contact Us - Airport Code Lookup - Terms of Use - Privacy Policy - Cookie Policy - Advertise on FlyerTalk - Archive - Top

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by Flyertalk.com. Copyright 2017 FlyerTalk.com. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.