FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   California (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/california-450/)
-   -   UA alternative in SMF (Sacramento) (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/california/1599260-ua-alternative-smf-sacramento.html)

szbenny Jul 31, 2014 11:24 pm

UA alternative in SMF (Sacramento)

Hello fellow Flyertalkers,

I have been flying UAL for 20 years out of SMF as it has been the best airline option for me with direct flights to DEN, LAX, SFO, ORD, IAD and IAH and plenty of ongoing connections to Asia, Europe and South America. With the ongoing devaluation of flyers' perks value, I've tried to see what other alternatives might be available. Unfortunately, I haven't found anything satisfying
- DAL and AA have limited options out of SMF
- I have flown Southwest for some short haul to LAS, PHX and various LA airports. However I wouldn't fly them for flights longer than 2 hours

Has anyone been successful at finding an alternative from this specific airport (SMF) for both domestic and overseas travel? I wouldn't consider flying out of SFO, OAK or SJC on a regular basis due to the commute involved (I am just 20' away from SMF). I'll take a few more UA flights this year to reach 2MM. After that I'll be ready for a switch.

Thank you in advance for any insights you might be able to share.

Cheers!

Szbenny

mherdeg Jul 31, 2014 11:50 pm

According to statistics published by the Sacramento County Air System for June 2014, http://www.sacramento.aero/scas/about/reports , the heaviest service out of SMF is on Southwest. Looking at total passenger enplanements reported in 2014 (from http://www.sacramento.aero/download....planements.pdf ):

WN logged 2.3 million passengers at SMF year-to-date.

In second, third, fourth, and fifth place for 2014 year-to-date comes US+AA (481k passengers together // 239k+242k separate), UA (369k passengers), DL (284k passengers), and AS (233k passengers).