Wiki Posts
Search

Car Rental in Brazil

Search this Thread

Old Aug 26, 2011, 3:37 pm
Original Poster

Car Rental in Brazil

Hi Folks,

First off, apologies if this is miscategorized. I am planning a honeymoon trip in late November to Rio and Buzios and am planning on renting a car. I have some experience driving in Brazil, so I am familiar with the drivers and the general dangers and road conditions. What I am trying to determine, however, is the type of car to rent.

I am very much intent on keeping my bride safe, and therefore am prioritizing renting a car with air bags. I have yet to find a website that explicitly tells me whether a car is equipped with airbags - not wikipedia (in English or Portuguese) not the car rental agencies, no general forum talk, nada. The closest I get is this page (in Portuguese) http://budget.com.br/ and even that doesn't specify if the models come equipped with this basic safety measure. It's pretty frustrating.

So, does anyone have experience on this front? Any pointers, suggestions, etc?

Thanks for the help.

-TJR
Old Oct 24, 2011, 12:39 am

Programs: UA, DL, AA, Aegean Air, Cal Alumni (go Bears!)
Most have airbags

Originally Posted by Tybalt42
Hi Folks,

First off, apologies if this is miscategorized. I am planning a honeymoon trip in late November to Rio and Buzios and am planning on renting a car. I have some experience driving in Brazil, so I am familiar with the drivers and the general dangers and road conditions. What I am trying to determine, however, is the type of car to rent.