Guesting into CCR as a connecting F pax?

Old Aug 7, 09, 6:41 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Edinburgh
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 66
Guesting into CCR as a connecting F pax?

I can't find the answer to this, despite searching the posts and the sticky. There seem to be a lot of these sorts of questions lately, but I can't find this particular scenario covered. I'm especially sorry if it's answered elsewhere.

I'm connecting from europe to a longhaul destination, in F, all on BA, via T5.
A friend will join me on the exact same flights, but not in F.

On the outbound, I know I can guest my friend into the CCR.
Inbound, can I do the same, or does guesting only apply when you're departing in F, rather than using it as arriving (and connecting) F pax?

I'm a GCH so guesting into the flounge is no issue, but CCR is preferred.
ex-ams is offline  
Old Aug 7, 09, 6:57 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Dublin,Ireland and Nice France
Programs: BA
Posts: 1,757
I'm open to correction but as I understand it,if you are inbound to T5 and connecting to either UK domestic BA or to club Europe on the same pnr,then you have access to the CR and ergo so does someone you guest in.

The best person to ask here is probably Dilly or theres another BA staff member here who has more direct involvement in who should have access to the CR.
Their name escapes me but they will be along hopefully
Earthman is offline  
Old Aug 7, 09, 8:36 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Scotland
Programs: BA Gold, Marriott Lifetime Titanium
Posts: 2,441
It's been done to death in various other threads and the collective experience is that yes, you are entitled (I've done it myself), but on occasions, the BA lounge dragon doesn't always think so.
thegoderic is offline  
Old Aug 7, 09, 3:55 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,806
Au contraire.

The received wisdom is that an arriving F pax does not get to guest someone into the CCR when connecting to another flight.
The Saint is offline  
Old Aug 8, 09, 2:39 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Edinburgh
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 66
I'm glad I asked now.

Anyone from the company care to advise on the official rule?
ex-ams is offline  
Old Aug 8, 09, 2:52 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: United kingdom
Programs: BAEC, SPG Gold, Marriott Gold Elite, Hyatt Gold Passport, Tesco clubcard!
Posts: 697
Guest is allowed going out in First but no guest allowed coming inbound and connecting.

If you inbound First on a one world airline, you can use First Lounge, but inbound First on BA is Concorde Room, no guest allowed
lhrworker is offline  
Old Aug 15, 09, 2:02 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Edinburgh
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 66
Thanks lhrworker.

I hope you won't mind, but I took the liberty of checking this with YouFirst, and they said (of my final inbound leg, shorthaul ex-LHR):

You have access to all lounges including Concorde as you have same day connection in First with one guest.

The only lounge you cant take a guest in to is the arrive Lounges, I hope this helps.
All quite confusing! I'll take a print-out of their email I suppose...
ex-ams is offline  
Old Aug 15, 09, 3:32 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Dublin,Ireland and Nice France
Programs: BA
Posts: 1,757
Originally Posted by ex-ams View Post
Thanks lhrworker.

I hope you won't mind, but I took the liberty of checking this with YouFirst, and they said (of my final inbound leg, shorthaul ex-LHR):



All quite confusing! I'll take a print-out of their email I suppose...
Thats exactly what I thought.
I actually remember now someone who definitely did get access to the concorde room on a same day connection.I knew there was good reason for me thinking that.
So yes bring that with you a print out of the reply from You first.

As always lounge access in the not too often used scenario's needs a pinch of salt as it can depend on the door person,right or wrong.

So I could still be wrong.
Earthman is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: