Laptop Power in Club World....Connector?

Old Dec 9, 06, 5:38 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 169
Laptop Power in Club World....Connector?

Flying LAX>HAM in CW in a week and half...What plug in connector do I need? US, EU or British? Thanks!
radelow is offline  
Old Dec 9, 06, 5:43 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 212
Go to longhaul on the, ummm High life shop via BA.COM and you will see the connector type there, It can be purchased on board. All the info is there.

(info below)

Currently we have two systems providing power 'at seat'.

The first is a DC based system. The system provides +15VDC and is capable of delivering 75 Watts of power via a hypertronics connector mounted at the seat.
The DC system is being installed on our longhaul fleet and is available on the flat bed First Class seat, on the flat bed Club World seat and on the World Traveller Plus seat.

For information, our entire fleet of Boeing 747 aircraft (Jumbo Jets) have been installed, and all of our Boeing 777 aircraft installed.
Installation on our fleet of 767 longhaul aircraft started in January 2005 and is due for completion by end 2006.

To use the DC system, there are a number of adaptors available commercially that come supplied with the correct connector for the seat.

The adaptor BA recommends, and one that has been tested for use on board aircraft, is the new DC to 110 VAC Inverter made by Teleadapt. British Airways sells this model on board in the 'High Life Shop!' (formerly the Shopping the World catalogue), under Longhaul routes.

http://www.bagiftshop.com/cgi-bin/st...t/View/4013IFA

Thats the link to the adaptor
TREKSTER1006 is offline  
Old Dec 9, 06, 5:48 pm
  #3  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ORD / DUB / LHR
Programs: UA 1K MM; BA Silver; Marriott Plat
Posts: 8,243
The DC power system is the standard emPower connector, that is used on most airlines. All the 777s, 747s and longhaul 767s have this in WTP, J and F (where it exists!)
star_world is offline  
Old Dec 9, 06, 6:00 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Point Place, Wisconsin
Programs: LH HON, BA Gold, CX DIA, EK Gold
Posts: 14,500
I use the iGO power supply (Juice 75; Igo everywhere 130). www.igo.com
The connection required is the emPower plug, as mentioned above.
Unfortunatley BA does not offer standard US/Europe outlets, like other airlines (LX,LH, etc). There are also compatible chargers from targus and kensington.

Hope you find what you need before the flight as the BA system offered onboard is highly overpriced for what you get. I think BA F pax can use one of these free of charge. If noone in F is using it, perhaps the crew will let you use it in CW !?
Rambuster is offline  
Old Dec 9, 06, 7:15 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Programs: BA GGL & CCRC, TK*G, FB G, HHH D, SPG P.
Posts: 3,877
NB there will be no inflight power available on your LON-HAM sector.
More Champagne Sir? is offline  
Old Dec 9, 06, 7:39 pm
  #6  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ORD / DUB / LHR
Programs: UA 1K MM; BA Silver; Marriott Plat
Posts: 8,243
Originally Posted by More Champagne Sir? View Post
NB there will be no inflight power available on your LON-HAM sector.
I was going to agree - but aren't there power connectors on some of the new shorthaul Airbus a/c? 319s maybe? I remember something being mentioned on this in the past. If they do exist they are European-style AC connections...
star_world is offline  
Old Dec 9, 06, 8:06 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London Town
Programs: BA Silver, AF Silver
Posts: 451
On my LHR-HKG flight on Friday, there were a grand total of 2 adaptors on board - both in F, and both being used. So I went to sleep instead
Kevlondon is offline  
Old Dec 9, 06, 11:43 pm
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SE1, London
Posts: 21,837
The thread below should give you some more ideas. I am very, very happy with the Kensington set I bought.

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/showt...hlight=adaptor

IIRC it is some of the later A320/A321's that have power. I've never actually seen the sockets and frankly for all but the longest Euro routes it isn't that important.
Swanhunter is online now  
Old Dec 10, 06, 1:42 am
  #9  
SLF
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Europe
Programs: Various
Posts: 3,087
ISTR that NGCW will have 110v AC sockets instead of Empower, so if you're lucky enough to be on the one plane so far fitted with this then your investment in Empower will be pointless
SLF is offline  
Old Dec 10, 06, 5:58 pm
  #10  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 169
Thanks everyone. I picked up the Targus one (APD10US) on Ebay for $30.00. Should fit the bill nicely.
radelow is offline  
Old Dec 10, 06, 8:29 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Cayman Islands
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 807
You may be disappointed... I have a Targus adapter that works great with my HP laptop on AA flights, yet even though it also has an Empower adapter, it wouldn't work with the BA power... the only that worked is the (bulky) Teleadapt inverter.
TomCayman is offline  
Old Dec 11, 06, 4:53 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cardiff, UK
Programs: BA GGL, Concorde Room card, KLM Silver, PC Platinum Ambassador, Marriott Platinum, UA Premier Silver
Posts: 5,278
Originally Posted by Swanhunter;
IIRC it is some of the later A320/A321's that have power. I've never actually seen the sockets and frankly for all but the longest Euro routes it isn't that important.
Surely that depends how fast one can type?

You'd be surprised what I can do in a hour.
flyclub is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread