757 LHR-MAN: Door 1L or 2L?

Old Dec 5, 06, 7:10 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,457
757 LHR-MAN: Door 1L or 2L?

Is there a pattern to whether they use 1L or 2L on the 757 fleet at either LHR or MAN? Probably not but I thought it was worth asking at least.
aristoph is offline  
Old Dec 5, 06, 7:21 am
  #2  
Moderator: British Airways Executive Club, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges and Carbon Conscious Travel
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 19,416
At LHR, I have occasionally boarded a UK domestic 757 through door 2L and also 4L but this has only occurred after being bused to an awaiting aircraft parked at an international stand. At the gate 5 cluster or gates 78+, boarding is consistently channelled via 1L.
Prospero is offline  
Old Dec 5, 06, 7:47 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Singapore and London
Programs: BA Gold; SQ PPS; UA Gold; LH FTL; Flying Blue Silver; Starwood Gold; ICHG AMB; Hyatt Platinum;
Posts: 5,391
Only done LHR-MAN or vice versa on a 757 a few times, but can never remember boarding or disembarking via any door other than 1L.

This contrasts with 757's on international routes from LHR, where I have seen either 1L or 2L being used.
House is offline  
Old Dec 5, 06, 7:47 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: somewhere north of London, UK
Programs: HH Gold, BA Silver, Accor Silver
Posts: 15,243
Ditto this. The only time I can recall using 2L at LHR has been on a remote (or intl stand for domestic flight) stand, or on occasion at NCL when the airbridge hasn't been working - they pull the plane right forward so the steps won't fit by 1L

Interestingly, the US carriers seem to use 2L as a matter of course on the 757's, even with an airbridge attached.
Swiss Tony is offline  
Old Dec 5, 06, 7:49 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,457
Interesting. We disembarked via 2L on a recent return flight from BCN, which is why I asked the question. Looks like that might have been the exception rather than the rule?
aristoph is offline  
Old Dec 5, 06, 7:51 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Singapore and London
Programs: BA Gold; SQ PPS; UA Gold; LH FTL; Flying Blue Silver; Starwood Gold; ICHG AMB; Hyatt Platinum;
Posts: 5,391
Originally Posted by aristoph View Post
Interesting. We disembarked via 2L on a recent return flight from BCN, which is why I asked the question. Looks like that might have been the exception rather than the rule?
I have seen 757's using airbridges attached to 2L at LHR T1 international gates, so it's definitely possible there. The domestic gates, on the other hand, always seem to use 1L.

Some airlines (LH springs to mind) use 2L all the time for their A321 fleet, at least at "home" airports. Not sure what the BA policy is for A321's.
House is offline  
Old Dec 5, 06, 7:53 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,457
Originally Posted by House View Post
I have seen 757's using airbridges attached to 2L at LHR T1 international gates, so it's definitely possible there. The domestic gates, on the other hand, always seem to use 1L.
Apologies. Re-reading your first post I see you had already made that distinction. Thanks.
aristoph is offline  
Old Dec 5, 06, 8:17 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Singapore and London
Programs: BA Gold; SQ PPS; UA Gold; LH FTL; Flying Blue Silver; Starwood Gold; ICHG AMB; Hyatt Platinum;
Posts: 5,391
Originally Posted by aristoph View Post
Apologies. Re-reading your first post I see you had already made that distinction. Thanks.
No problem - I misread your original post as being specific to the LHR-MAN route. I need to read more slowly!
House is offline  
Old Dec 5, 06, 8:24 am
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,457
Originally Posted by House View Post
No problem - I misread your original post as being specific to the LHR-MAN route. I need to read more slowly!
No you're right, it was.
aristoph is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread