Changing seat pre-assignment for non EC member

Old Oct 5, 03, 6:01 pm
  #1  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York, NY
Programs: BAEC Gold, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold, AMEX Platinum (US)
Posts: 18,142
Changing seat pre-assignment for non EC member

My girlfriend is coming over here in late November and I have her Amadeus reference number, the same that you quote when phoning the EC to change your seat pre-assigment.

She is not a EC member at the moment because she is flying in discount Y, not a tier point qualifying fare class so we cannot sign her up and do it that way.

Could I phone the EC on her behalf and snaffle her a couple of good seats for her trip so she is tip-top condition when she gets here. Well as near to tip top as you can be after an O/N in discount Y

------------------
'There are only two emotions in a plane: boredom and terror'
Orson Welles (19151985)
Fraser is offline  
Old Oct 6, 03, 1:19 am
  #2  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 40,183
If there are seats available for pre-selection, then you can do it even as a non EC member so just phone up n do it.

DOes the system check yet whether you have an eligable flight booked before allowing you to join the EC?

Dave
Dave Noble is offline  
Old Oct 6, 03, 3:41 am
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London
Programs: Mucci. Nothing else matters.
Posts: 36,062
A tip - go to www.seatmap.com and pull up the chart for each of her flights on screen before you phone BA, so that you can see what the res agent sees while you are talking to them. (Use CTRL+N to copy the first chart into a new window so you can actually have both charts up on screen at the same time.)
Globaliser is offline  
Old Oct 6, 03, 4:32 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York, NY
Programs: BAEC Gold, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold, AMEX Platinum (US)
Posts: 18,142
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by Globaliser:
A tip - go to www.seatmap.com and pull up the chart for each of her flights on screen before you phone BA, so that you can see what the res agent sees while you are talking to them. (Use CTRL+N to copy the first chart into a new window so you can actually have both charts up on screen at the same time.)</font>
bloody good job I did check.

ON the IAD-LHR leg all but one aisle, bulkhead or window seats are occupied

all the seats are showing occupied on the 777 flight from LHR-IAD

oh dear

I guess the BA World Offers has filled the plane up considerably
Fraser is offline  
Old Oct 6, 03, 4:37 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK (currently)
Programs: BA Gold (and many other greater and lesser distinctions)
Posts: 6,410
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by fbgdavidson:
bloody good job I did check.

ON the IAD-LHR leg all but one aisle, bulkhead or window seats are occupied

all the seats are showing occupied on the 777 flight from LHR-IAD

oh dear

I guess the BA World Offers has filled the plane up considerably
</font>
No ! There is only a small allocation of seats available for pre-assignment, whether to EC or non-EC members. The plane could still be 75% empty.

Frequentflyer99 is offline  
Old Oct 6, 03, 5:43 am
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York, NY
Programs: BAEC Gold, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold, AMEX Platinum (US)
Posts: 18,142
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by Frequentflyer99:
No ! There is only a small allocation of seats available for pre-assignment, whether to EC or non-EC members. The plane could still be 75% empty.

</font>
OK, I'll phone the 0800 number and sort that out later, well asap
Fraser is offline  
Old Oct 6, 03, 6:50 am
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London
Programs: Mucci. Nothing else matters.
Posts: 36,062
At most they will only pre-allocate 30-35% of long haul economy (usually in one or two discrete identifiable bands across the cabin). After that, you can sometimes ask BA to open something up if you have status but a non-status pax is probably temporarily out of luck at this point. Then it's -24h OLCI for EC members, -12h OLCI for non-EC website-registered pax, turn up early at the airport for anyone else.
Globaliser is offline  
Old Oct 6, 03, 7:58 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Royston, Herts UK
Programs: BA Exec, BMI DC
Posts: 62
fbgdavidson/Globaliser

Hi I hope you can help me, I can never get www.seatmap.com to bring anything up except

'The seat map option is not available at this moment. Please contact your travel provider for information regarding your seats.'

Do you guys have any tips on how I can get it to work?

Cheers

Benjurs

PS- I want to change my seat allocation to PHL and I'm stuck in the dreaded J seat on a 772 - Yikes!
Benjurs is offline  
Old Oct 6, 03, 8:59 am
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London
Programs: Mucci. Nothing else matters.
Posts: 36,062
You must put in all the information requested. Date, airline, flight number, class (F, J, W or Y will do for BA depending on which cabin you're in) and the airport codes for origin and destination. (NYC or LON will get you nothing, you must use JFK or LHR or LGW.)

If you don't get any joy with the cabin you want to look at, look at some of the other cabins to see whether it is a single cabin that's not accessible through the link. It sometimes happens.

Also, sometimes Amadeus just plays up, and putting the information in two or three times running will eventually bring up the chart.
Globaliser is offline  
Old Oct 6, 03, 11:05 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Royston, Herts UK
Programs: BA Exec, BMI DC
Posts: 62
Globaliser, Thanks chief, all sorted now!

Yikes looks fully booked even though it's showing Y9/B9 on Galelio..I suppose that's due to the 30% pre-allocation?

Anyways do you reckon a quick call to my corporate travel agent may get me moved or should I try the EC? I'm still registered as living in the US (moved back about 10 months ago) so can the UK EC help me or shall I contact the US EC? I don't have any status (apart from the elite Blue!!!).

Cheers all for your help.

Benjurs
Benjurs is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread