BA Lounge web access - property sites blocked?

Old Sep 15, 03, 11:06 am
  #1  
GK
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: UK
Programs: reformed ex basic Member
Posts: 3,148
BA Lounge web access - property sites blocked?

Can anyone come up with a reason why web access in BA lounges (at least LHT T1 Int, Dom and MAN)block access to property/real estate web sites - yet one can surf Virgin sites freely ?
GK is offline  
Old Sep 15, 03, 2:33 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 37,486
Because as was made clear in the past, BA's website filter settings are useless...
ScottC is offline  
Old Sep 15, 03, 2:42 pm
  #3  
NFH
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: London (LCY)
Programs: BA blue, Hilton gold, Marriott gold, IHG plat, Meliá gold, Radisson gold, Hyatt disc, AmexPlat
Posts: 915
Try unplugging the network cable from the back of BA's PC and plugging it into your own laptop. You should get an IP address via DHCP and a BT ADSL connection without any restrictions. I've a feeling that the blocking is in BA's PC, not in their network or firewall.
NFH is offline  
Old Sep 15, 03, 3:12 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 2,483
what a great idea!

do you know if you can get corporate VPN this way?

(would save a fortune on BT 'OpenWorld' or whatever they call it......)
matthewuk is offline  
Old Sep 15, 03, 4:29 pm
  #5  
dnw
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 5,247
Great idea and I can't believe I've not thought of it before, thanks!!

Although it is a little concerning that they dont lock down DHCP to the MAC addresses of the machines they have, I mean its not like they have that many...
dnw is online now  
Old Sep 15, 03, 7:44 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: LAX
Posts: 3,520
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by dnw:
Although it is a little concerning that they dont lock down DHCP to the MAC addresses of the machines they have, I mean its not like they have that many... </font>
No kidding! BA's offering of connectivity is an absolute insult, expecially those ugly credit-card phones they have throughout the lounges.

JohnAx is offline  
Old Sep 15, 03, 9:48 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 37,486
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by JohnAx:
Originally posted by dnw:
Although it is a little concerning that they dont lock down DHCP to the MAC addresses of the machines they have, I mean its not like they have that many... </font>
No kidding! BA's offering of connectivity is an absolute insult, expecially those ugly credit-card phones they have throughout the lounges.

Those are PHONES? I always thought they were portapotties... They certainly are large enough...
ScottC is offline  
Old Sep 15, 03, 10:13 pm
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 37,486
OK, who's going to plug a wireless access point into the back of one of those machines next time? We'll make the password: BLUECARD out of respect for fbgdavidson
ScottC is offline  
Old Sep 16, 03, 3:57 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: LAX
Posts: 3,520
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by ScottC:
OK, who's going to plug a wireless access point into the back of one of those machines next time? We'll make the password: BLUECARD out of respect for fbgdavidson </font>
I wonder how long it would stay? Using one of those cheap AP's with several ports, the local computer could remain alive.
JohnAx is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread