Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Reload this Page >

Can't check-in/add contact info on BA flight tomorrow

Can't check-in/add contact info on BA flight tomorrow

Old Nov 24, 22, 3:54 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: DEN
Programs: Hilton Diamond Hyatt Globalist Marriott Gold AA EXP
Posts: 882
Can't check-in/add contact info on BA flight tomorrow

I'm having a devil of a time checking in our family for the BA flight Black friday AMS-LHR-DEN. First it required "covid docs" which really just meant we had to confirm US citizenship then apparently wait a hour past the "you've been verified email" before the system actually updated. Now I've gotten wife checked in finally on her profile, but myself and kids are connected to my BA profile and I can't add the passport info to check any of us in. These tickets were booked thru AA, but have to checkin on BA and add passport info there even though it was already entered when I booked the tix on AA. Now it needs my passport and contact info added for myself and each of the kids (one has the same name as me) but each time I add that for any of the passengers it says error when updating contact info and won't let me proceed. What's up with the website?

I've been travelling my whole life and I'm not bad at this. Something is very squirrely with the site.
bbriscoe34 is offline  
Old Nov 24, 22, 4:34 am
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: From ORK, live LCY
Programs: IHG Gold, BA Silver, EI Silver, HH Silver, Accor Silver, ABP, Seigneur des Horaires des Mucci
Posts: 13,354
Could be any of a number of things, including that the system doesn't like your COVID paperwork, you've uploaded it to the wrong system, the system has decided your passport needs physical inspection, you've been SSSSelected, or your ticket's invalid (least likely). Almost certainly, the airport will sort it out.
stifle is offline  
Old Nov 24, 22, 4:40 am
  #3  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 56,757
Presumably you've used your EXP privileges to get seats all lined up. If so then allow an extra minute or two to check-in at AMS, most people are using this way to deal with the USA paperwork. You could have a look at the VeriFLY and SalesForce threads to check you've done all you need to do, and by all means use the direct SalesForce link purely for the LHR-DEN service. As mentioned in the thread, the MMB link doesn't work well with connections, you get one shot at it only, so it's better to use the direct link and get it right first time.

The other thing to try is checking in via the App or main website, depending on what you've used already.

It's really only a nuisance for those who are hand baggage only, since if checking in luggage it's pretty seamless.
https://digitalboarding.force.com/BA...ionEmbarque_BA
becks1 likes this.
corporate-wage-slave is offline  
Old Nov 24, 22, 5:22 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: DEN
Programs: Hilton Diamond Hyatt Globalist Marriott Gold AA EXP
Posts: 882
Originally Posted by corporate-wage-slave View Post
Presumably you've used your EXP privileges to get seats all lined up. If so then allow an extra minute or two to check-in at AMS, most people are using this way to deal with the USA paperwork. You could have a look at the VeriFLY and SalesForce threads to check you've done all you need to do, and by all means use the direct SalesForce link purely for the LHR-DEN service. As mentioned in the thread, the MMB link doesn't work well with connections, you get one shot at it only, so it's better to use the direct link and get it right first time.

The other thing to try is checking in via the App or main website, depending on what you've used already.

It's really only a nuisance for those who are hand baggage only, since if checking in luggage it's pretty seamless.
https://digitalboarding.force.com/BA...ionEmbarque_BA
No, we dont have the seats sorted for the kids. Only for myself at time of booking and the wife when she was able to check in this morning. But the kids were under a different booking because they are in economy and want to have three seats together. BA would not let me pick their seats without paying since they are on a separate booking Will British assign this automatically since they are on the same booking?
bbriscoe34 is offline  
Old Nov 24, 22, 6:20 am
  #5  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 56,757
Originally Posted by bbriscoe34 View Post
No, we dont have the seats sorted for the kids. Only for myself at time of booking and the wife when she was able to check in this morning. But the kids were under a different booking because they are in economy and want to have three seats together. BA would not let me pick their seats without paying since they are on a separate booking Will British assign this automatically since they are on the same booking?
OK, well what you do next time is between 3 days and 2 days to departure (but no later) you call BA to sort out the children's seats (I presume they really are children, not 37 years old!) since that there is a requirement to keep children next to a parent or someone in loco parentis. Right now, assuming that you are 2 children and 1 adult, you need to resolve this as best you can at the airport, since once you are under OLCI deadline (24 hours) seats need to be assigned via the airport. If you are an EXP in the same cabin as the children then you can also use TCP to resolve this before travel, see the threads on TCP on how to do that.
corporate-wage-slave is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread