Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Reload this Page >

Any experience of Global Entry interview in Canada?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 31, 2022, 3:12 am
Original Poster

Programs: Chevalier de la Gallentrie - Knight of the Platinum Hair Brush, BA Gold, Hilton Gold

I'm part way through my application for Global Entry (I'm a UK resident) and have been approved pending interview. I'll most likely be visiting Canada much sooner than i'll be in the US, and I've noticed that a number of Canadian airports are included in the list of "Enrollment on arrival" airports, so it appears I SHOULD be able to complete my interview at one of these, rather than having to wait until i'm next in the US. However, I wondered if any of my fellow FT'ers have ever completed their GE via this route or not? I've not been to Canada before, so not familiar with what the customs and immigration set up is like - do they have some US CBP desks there in addition to the usual Canadian ones? Would be coming into Toronto.
Old Jul 31, 2022, 3:55 am
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club

Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
I don't have all the answers here, but in Toronto, if arriving from the UK, I don't think you are going to get access to the CBP, since that's in a separate area. Your route into Toronto would only take you past Canadian immigration officials. The USA pre-clearance locations in Canada have their own pathways through airports. So to take advantage of this then you would need to go to USA or return to the UK via the USA or something similar. I guess you could book a day trip to BOS (etc) whilst you are in Canada.
efincomputer and roberto99 like this.
Old Jul 31, 2022, 3:59 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist