Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Reload this Page >

How much Amps can I draw from the new clubworld seat?

How much Amps can I draw from the new clubworld seat?

Old May 15, 22, 5:12 pm
  #16  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 100
Originally Posted by Koru Flyer View Post
Is the food this bad?
I can't wait to see what they'll be using for dessert.
seawolf, toothy, atcer28 and 3 others like this.
mguinness is offline  
Old May 15, 22, 5:13 pm
  #17  
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Programs: BAEC Silver
Posts: 1,258
Originally Posted by NWIFlyer View Post
I suspect, looking at those spikes, we can be reasonably confident that this wouldn't even make it through security and into the cabin as hand luggage, so anything else is moot.
I had the same thought about that not getting through security let alone on board. Would it fit through the xray machine?

I've seen some weird things at security but that takes the biscuit.

Can't wait to read more assuming OP comes back to tell us what the idea is.
lhrhappy likes this.
AJA_ is offline  
Old May 15, 22, 6:10 pm
  #18  
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Minutes from ATL
Programs: DL
Posts: 341
You could bring this and then use a 100W DC supply at each seat connected in parallel to recharge. That would be 1000 W so you could grill your own steak or whatever. I think that the battery pack is not allowed due to it's capacity however, but you'd need some kind of AC to DC to pool power from the seats then DC to AC to power the appliance.
lhrhappy likes this.
paul21 is offline  
Old May 15, 22, 6:40 pm
  #19  
sxc
Moderator, Cathay Pacific
Accor Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Programs: CX Green, QF Platinum, BAEC Silver, Hyatt Glob
Posts: 10,693
Next question: can I bitcoin mine on a plane?
dhuey, jimlad48, MaxFlyer and 10 others like this.
sxc is offline  
Old May 15, 22, 6:43 pm
  #20  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Programs: Marriott Lifetime Titanium.;UA 1.5MM; UA Lifetime Gold (whoppee); DL Plat
Posts: 2,062
Ain’t no cure for crazy!!!
spursdebs and lhrhappy like this.
boss315 is offline  
Old May 15, 22, 6:47 pm
  #21  
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Mexico
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 2,130
Perhaps this explains it
lhrhappy and LTFF like this.
TTmex is offline  
Old May 15, 22, 6:50 pm
  #22  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: NT Australia
Programs: QF WP
Posts: 3,787
It seems ones without the spikes are available

must confess it looked to me like a bit of lab equipment. Especially with a group of 4 in F perhaps a group going to a conference that requires some microbiological experiment to proceed uninterrupted?
lhrhappy likes this.
nancypants is offline  
Old May 15, 22, 6:51 pm
  #23  
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Somewhere
Programs: SkyMiles, AAdvantage, MileagePlus, Rapid Rewards
Posts: 116
Going to bring an extension cord next time so I can plug in my air conditioner, microwave, and desktop computer. Maybe bring a mini fridge and TV as well.
daftboy and lhrhappy like this.
KeithRedford is offline  
Old May 15, 22, 6:58 pm
  #24  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Programs: BAEC (99.9% from Lifetime Gold) :-)
Posts: 39,080
Lightweight....come to Argentina and I'll show you how to cook a sausage.


IAN-UK, Jimmie76, YacozA and 9 others like this.
HIDDY is offline  
Old May 15, 22, 7:10 pm
  #25  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,540
I'm sure any non compliance in crew requests not to operate said equipment would be met with a simple switch off of the system preventing in-seat power from being used by anyone. The same would go for air fryers, George Foreman grills,, electric woks, rice-steamers, soup-makers, microwaves, nutri-bullets, toasters, pop-corn machines or any other obsure appliance which has absolutely no place for use in an aircraft cabin.
1Aturnleft is online now  
Old May 15, 22, 7:47 pm
  #26  
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: CDG,JAX
Programs: UA 1K, DL PM
Posts: 9,936
Originally Posted by Koru Flyer View Post
Is the food this bad?
Wasn’t there once a discussion about people bringing MCDondalds on a flight in F?
wrp96, lhrhappy, nilsfr69 and 2 others like this.
TomMM is offline  
Old May 15, 22, 8:22 pm
  #27  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: أمريكا
Posts: 26,338
Must be some amazing hot dogs if it's worth buying four seats in Club World to power this device!

Without the toasting rods (which as others said may be an issue for security), you only need 450 watts instead of 550. Although would the hot dogs be any good if you don't toast the buns?
lhrhappy likes this.
Doppy is offline  
Old May 15, 22, 9:06 pm
  #28  
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: CMH
Programs: American Airlines Gold, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold
Posts: 218
Originally Posted by 1Aturnleft View Post
I'm sure any non compliance in crew requests not to operate said equipment would be met with a simple switch off of the system preventing in-seat power from being used by anyone. The same would go for air fryers, George Foreman grills,, electric woks, rice-steamers, soup-makers, microwaves, nutri-bullets, toasters, pop-corn machines or any other obsure appliance which has absolutely no place for use in an aircraft cabin.
Reminds me of this DL safety video @51 seconds in

doc4science is offline  
Old May 15, 22, 9:26 pm
  #29  
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Programs: CX Gold
Posts: 123
Originally Posted by sxc View Post
Next question: can I bitcoin mine on a plane?
this is a great plan
those new to mining (among other resource-intensive applications) are likely to make complaints along the lines of "it sounds like a jet engine!"
well, doing that next to a couple of actual jet engines neatly renders that issue irrelevant

only slightly more seriously, depending on OEM the RTX 3080 Ti laptop GPU (just a recent example) can draw up to 175 W, so actually...
lhrhappy likes this.
Cryofern is offline  
Old May 15, 22, 10:26 pm
  #30  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Programs: BA LTG, UA Gold, EK Silver, Hilton Diamond, Marriott LT Titanium, IHG Plat
Posts: 1,127
From a security point of view, I've just taken an induction rice cooker with me on my flight to DOH and on to RUH (via the T5 FW) so maybe the OP's device would get through (depending on how the prongs were viewed). I must say that I had no intention of using said cooker on board.
lhrhappy likes this.
moral_low_ground is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread