Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Reload this Page >

It's no wonder there are customer service queues

It's no wonder there are customer service queues

Old May 2, 22, 5:02 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK
Programs: BA Silver
Posts: 386
It's no wonder there are customer service queues

As a BAEC Silver, I tried to assign seats for a CE redemption booking (2 passengers on 2 flights) for later this year - but was only given the paid option on BA.com.

I waited for about 20 minutes on chat as it counted down from 42 to my turn. Once I was through to an agent, I had to leave after 40 minutes with the agent still completing the task. He did as promised, which is good, but how on earth can something so simple take so long?
bernardh is online now  
Old May 2, 22, 5:04 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London, United Kingdom
Programs: British Airways Gold
Posts: 2,625
The consequences of underinvesting in IT for years
ajeleonard is offline  
Old May 2, 22, 5:18 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: GLA
Programs: BAEC Silver, Global Entry
Posts: 239
Originally Posted by bernardh View Post
As a BAEC Silver, I tried to assign seats for a CE redemption booking (2 passengers on 2 flights) for later this year - but was only given the paid option on BA.com.

I waited for about 20 minutes on chat as it counted down from 42 to my turn. Once I was through to an agent, I had to leave after 40 minutes with the agent still completing the task. He did as promised, which is good, but how on earth can something so simple take so long?
I'm having the same issue, I got through on the phone earlier this morning, the chap I spoke to couldn't answer it, said I should get it resovled within 28/72 hours... So 40 minutes isn't too bad!
Thrifty Scotsman is offline  
Old May 2, 22, 5:21 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2,289
Originally Posted by bernardh View Post
As a BAEC Silver, I tried to assign seats for a CE redemption booking (2 passengers on 2 flights) for later this year - but was only given the paid option on BA.com.

I waited for about 20 minutes on chat as it counted down from 42 to my turn. Once I was through to an agent, I had to leave after 40 minutes with the agent still completing the task. He did as promised, which is good, but how on earth can something so simple take so long?
I cant believe it took 40+ mins even with some problems 20 mins would be a long time really. Maybe new ish agent combined with problems possibly.
Anonba is online now  
Old May 2, 22, 5:26 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2,289
Originally Posted by Thrifty Scotsman View Post
I'm having the same issue, I got through on the phone earlier this morning, the chap I spoke to couldn't answer it, said I should get it resovled within 28/72 hours... So 40 minutes isn't too bad!
What was your query out of interest?
Anonba is online now  
Old May 2, 22, 5:30 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: GLA
Programs: BAEC Silver, Global Entry
Posts: 239
Originally Posted by Anonba View Post
What was your query out of interest?
I'm a new Silver, but I can't select seats without paying for them.
Thrifty Scotsman is offline  
Old May 2, 22, 7:02 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK
Programs: BA Silver
Posts: 386
Originally Posted by Anonba View Post
I cant believe it took 40+ mins even with some problems 20 mins would be a long time really. Maybe new ish agent combined with problems possibly.
There were undoubtedly [system] problems as the agent told me everything was 'taking longer than usual'. When one considers the steps; a. key in record locator, b. verify the customer's ID, c. select seat on flights, d. save; I reckon that should take a couple of minutes.

I do feel for the agents when IT is working against them, but another 15-20 customers with similarly trivial issues could have been served on chat in the time my 'call' took. Even better, had I been able to select the seats myself an agent wouldn't have been involved at all.
bernardh is online now  
Old May 2, 22, 7:23 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2,289
Originally Posted by bernardh View Post
There were undoubtedly [system] problems as the agent told me everything was 'taking longer than usual'. When one considers the steps; a. key in record locator, b. verify the customer's ID, c. select seat on flights, d. save; I reckon that should take a couple of minutes.

I do feel for the agents when IT is working against them, but another 15-20 customers with similarly trivial issues could have been served on chat in the time my 'call' took. Even better, had I been able to select the seats myself an agent wouldn't have been involved at all.
Ha yeah you dont need to tell me the process, im an agent so i know exactly how it works.

If your status shows correctly I think probably removing and re adding exec number would have done thr trick.
Brighterside likes this.
Anonba is online now  
Old May 2, 22, 10:36 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: GLA
Programs: BAEC Silver, Global Entry
Posts: 239
Originally Posted by Anonba View Post
Ha yeah you dont need to tell me the process, im an agent so i know exactly how it works.

If your status shows correctly I think probably removing and re adding exec number would have done thr trick.
Can you advise how I can try this online? (I don't see the option?)

Thanks
Thrifty Scotsman is offline  
Old May 2, 22, 11:38 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Programs: BA Blue, IC Spire Ambassador
Posts: 5,022
Originally Posted by bernardh View Post
There were undoubtedly [system] problems as the agent told me everything was 'taking longer than usual'. When one considers the steps; a. key in record locator, b. verify the customer's ID, c. select seat on flights, d. save; I reckon that should take a couple of minutes.

I do feel for the agents when IT is working against them, but another 15-20 customers with similarly trivial issues could have been served on chat in the time my 'call' took. Even better, had I been able to select the seats myself an agent wouldn't have been involved at all.
Id be interested to know but I doubt a rank & file agent can do this. I expect they got the same payment request you got. So then I dont know if they can just override it (presumably having to give chapter & verse about the apparent reason for waiving a fee and a reason code - possibly needing authorisation)! Or maybe its a workflow request to the seating control team (who presumably have to explain themselves to the custodian of the spreadsheets).
IAMORGAN is offline  
Old May 2, 22, 1:23 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2,289
Originally Posted by IAMORGAN View Post
Id be interested to know but I doubt a rank & file agent can do this. I expect they got the same payment request you got. So then I dont know if they can just override it (presumably having to give chapter & verse about the apparent reason for waiving a fee and a reason code - possibly needing authorisation)! Or maybe its a workflow request to the seating control team (who presumably have to explain themselves to the custodian of the spreadsheets).
There isnt a waiver code as such, if an Executive Club number with Silver or Gold status is added the seat plan should automatically change to reflect that seating is free.

However if an Executive Club number was already in the booking before the status changed it may still show old status. So the solution is usually for us to delete and re add the Executive club number.


If this doesnt work Managers are able to add seats manually within a few minutes. We would call them and ask them to add seats if the status shows correctly on the account.
Anonba is online now  
Old May 2, 22, 1:28 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2,289
Originally Posted by Thrifty Scotsman View Post
Can you advise how I can try this online? (I don't see the option?)

Thanks
Sorry I dont think its possible online i meant that can be tried if you called.
Anonba is online now  
Old May 2, 22, 1:34 pm
  #13  
Ambassador, British Airways; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL, HH Diamond
Posts: 37,293
For removing and re-entering your BAEC number you would have to resort to another airline's site as you cant do it on BA.com. Previously you could do it on AY MMB, but that has stopped working recently. May be worth trying any of QF, MH, RJ, RAM MMBs.
KARFA is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread