Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Reload this Page >

BA Benefits using Oneworld Emerald card only

BA Benefits using Oneworld Emerald card only

Old Jul 2, 21, 8:33 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 19
BA Benefits using Oneworld Emerald card only

I'm going to be switching from my current carrier, where I have Oneworld Emerald status, to BA due to a move to London. Unfortunately, they don't match status in any way, so I'm going to need to log flights using my Exec Club number to get up to Gold status. In the interim, would the check in desks and lounges at Heathrow allow me to use my Emerald status using a card, even if it's not listed on the booking? Skipping the lines and using first class check in is not something I'd particularly embrace losing during the transition. Thanks in advance for any guidance or recent experiences.
Zigzagdc is offline  
Old Jul 2, 21, 9:22 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5,298
I presume you are an AA frequent flyer, in which case i you have either your plastic card or your status on your phone you will be able to use the first wing for check in and the first lounge.
Zigzagdc likes this.
rapidex is offline  
Old Jul 2, 21, 9:33 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 19
Yes, I am. That's perfect. Thank you. I guess seating assignments was too much to ask....
Zigzagdc is offline  
Old Jul 2, 21, 10:02 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,955
Originally Posted by Zigzagdc View Post
Yes, I am. That's perfect. Thank you. I guess seating assignments was too much to ask....
The only way to get around seating is to input your AA EXP into your BA booking. If you do this you'd need to update your booking with your BA details at check in or at the lounge and get a boarding pass reprint with your BA number on it. Do not scan any boarding pass at the gate that shows your AA number on it as it's at that point your booking will track/credit to your AA EXP and not to your BA.
englisha, Zigzagdc and Knodde like this.
1Aturnleft is offline  
Old Jul 2, 21, 10:30 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Programs: BA GGL, AA LTP, Marriott (sigh) Ambassador, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 2,891
Originally Posted by 1Aturnleft View Post
The only way to get around seating is to input your AA EXP into your BA booking. If you do this you'd need to update your booking with your BA details at check in or at the lounge and get a boarding pass reprint with your BA number on it. Do not scan any boarding pass at the gate that shows your AA number on it as it's at that point your booking will track/credit to your AA EXP and not to your BA.

this, and yes to the earlier question about flashing your card to enter lounges or check in areas. that is exactly what i had to do for the year i switched from AA to BA. requires a bit of a think the first few times to ensure you do not lose out on the BA tier points but you get used to it.
VSLover is offline  
Old Jul 2, 21, 10:40 am
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Programs: TK Elite Plus,QR Platinum,BAEC GGL,ITA Executive, AFKL Silver, HH Diamond,Bonvoy Gold,Sixt Platinum
Posts: 13,308
Also a reminder that do not use your AAdvantage number on AA bookings if you are planning to credit AA flights to BAEC in the future.
American wouldn't detach any AAdvantage number over a partner FFP, thus you shouldn't save any of your reservations to your AAdvantage account or use AAdvantage benefits when flying AA. This does not apply for BA flights but AA has a strict rule which doesn't allow cross-benefiting on their own flights.
VSLover likes this.
ISTFlyer is offline  
Old Jul 2, 21, 7:53 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: LAX
Programs: BA Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 99
Originally Posted by ISTFlyer View Post
Also a reminder that do not use your AAdvantage number on AA bookings if you are planning to credit AA flights to BAEC in the future.
American wouldn't detach any AAdvantage number over a partner FFP, thus you shouldn't save any of your reservations to your AAdvantage account or use AAdvantage benefits when flying AA. This does not apply for BA flights but AA has a strict rule which doesn't allow cross-benefiting on their own flights.
I have had luck doing this for my husband. I wait until right before he wants to check-in. I call the general Aadvantage number and when the automated system asks for his AA number, I say that I don't have one. I then get routed to a general number where they do not seem to know the rules. I ask to have them change his AA number to his BA number. I have done it about 4 times in the past year and his seat assignment remained, but he did lose priority boarding.
Zigzagdc likes this.

Last edited by sbgmiles; Jul 2, 21 at 8:03 pm Reason: left out a word
sbgmiles is offline  
Old Jul 2, 21, 10:52 pm
  #8  
sxc
Moderator, Cathay Pacific
Accor Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Programs: CX Green, QF Platinum, BAEC Silver, Hyatt Glob
Posts: 10,738
Originally Posted by VSLover View Post
this, and yes to the earlier question about flashing your card to enter lounges or check in areas. that is exactly what i had to do for the year i switched from AA to BA. requires a bit of a think the first few times to ensure you do not lose out on the BA tier points but you get used to it.
Be careful at the LHR lounge. Ive had the lounge attendant change the FF number upon entry and Ive had to go to the customer service desk inside to get it changed back.
Zigzagdc likes this.
sxc is offline  
Old Jul 3, 21, 4:09 am
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Programs: TK Elite Plus,QR Platinum,BAEC GGL,ITA Executive, AFKL Silver, HH Diamond,Bonvoy Gold,Sixt Platinum
Posts: 13,308
Originally Posted by sbgmiles View Post
I have had luck doing this for my husband. I wait until right before he wants to check-in. I call the general Aadvantage number and when the automated system asks for his AA number, I say that I don't have one. I then get routed to a general number where they do not seem to know the rules. I ask to have them change his AA number to his BA number. I have done it about 4 times in the past year and his seat assignment remained, but he did lose priority boarding.
Your husband might have a positive experience in the past but once things go wrong, there is no way back on AA flights.
It's definitely a YMMV situation and it's the risk of the passenger to take it.
ISTFlyer is offline  
Old Jul 3, 21, 7:11 am
  #10  
ECR
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 383
You might have already reached Million Miler Lifetime Platinum with AA, but if not it might be worth considering if it is worthwhile to continue to credit to AA until you do, especially if you could reach it in a reasonable time frame. That way you could lock in Sapphire status. The flip side of that is of course if your travel patterns are heavy then BA Lifetime Gold may be achievable in the distant future, and anything you credit to AA pushes that further away.
ECR is offline  
Old Jul 3, 21, 7:56 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: LAX
Programs: BA Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 99
Originally Posted by ISTFlyer View Post
Your husband might have a positive experience in the past but once things go wrong, there is no way back on AA flights.
It's definitely a YMMV situation and it's the risk of the passenger to take it.
You are right ISTFlyer, YMMV. I only did it on cheap tickets that earned him an average of 5 to 20 tier points, so the benefits of Main Cabin Extra on those flights outweighed the risk to him. If you get upgraded using your AA status, you will not be able to change your frequent flyer number.
ISTFlyer and _kurt like this.
sbgmiles is offline  
Old Jul 14, 21, 12:41 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Washington,DC
Posts: 1,732
I have a similar question

I have no BA status (Blue) but have lots of Avios.
I am AA Lifetime Platinum

If I use Avios for a BA redemption flight in CW is it possible to then change and add my AA number so I can select a seat. If so how do you do this?
SteveinA2 is offline  
Old Jul 14, 21, 12:49 pm
  #13  
Ambassador, British Airways; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL, HH Diamond
Posts: 39,167
The usual way would be to use a third airline site as other MMBs allow you to change. Finnair MMB generally seems to work.
KARFA is online now  
Old Jul 14, 21, 2:08 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 791
Originally Posted by ISTFlyer View Post
Also a reminder that do not use your AAdvantage number on AA bookings if you are planning to credit AA flights to BAEC in the future.
American wouldn't detach any AAdvantage number over a partner FFP, thus you shouldn't save any of your reservations to your AAdvantage account or use AAdvantage benefits when flying AA. This does not apply for BA flights but AA has a strict rule which doesn't allow cross-benefiting on their own flights.
Just curious... is this a BA-AA-only issue? Or [any OW carrier]-AA issue?

Also, is it ok to enter a BAEC number at booking (if the issue here is merely trying to change an AA FF# to a BAEC number after booking), whether or not one saves the reservation to his/her AAdvantage account?
futuramadramallama is offline  
Old Jul 14, 21, 2:14 pm
  #15  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MEL CHC
Posts: 19,810
Originally Posted by SteveinA2 View Post
I have a similar question

I have no BA status (Blue) but have lots of Avios.
I am AA Lifetime Platinum

If I use Avios for a BA redemption flight in CW is it possible to then change and add my AA number so I can select a seat. If so how do you do this?
You may be able to book an award for another (not you), who happens to have the same name as you. This person another will have a different ffn.
1Aturnleft likes this.
Mwenenzi is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread