Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Reload this Page >

AA Basic economy - What is BA Gold entitled to

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 26, 2021, 10:13 am
Original Poster

Hello all,
This is my first time flying AA Basic economy and i'm a bit confused about what is or is not allowed
I will be booking directly on AA ( USA to central america) while using my BAEC number
I have the booking currently on hold for myself (gold) and my partner (no status)
A couple questions
1. Assigned seats - I was surprised that I was able to choose our seats for free. Is this the usual case with the BE fare? Is there a chance I can be asked to pay for these seats in the future?
2. Baggage allowance - The current booking does not say anything about baggage allowance.Does OWE get free baggage on AA BE? I do not mind paying the $30 for one bag versus difference of $120 for BE vs Main cabin
3. Tier points / Avios - This booking shows up as economy / booking code B. The British airways avios calculator has the B code as earning lowest tier points and avios. However I also read somewhere that Basic economy fares earn no points. Does anyone have any experience with this?

Thanks for all your help as always. Please move this to the appropriate thread if it already exists
Old Feb 26, 2021, 11:46 am
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club

Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
There is a bit of detail in these threads:

Economy Basic and Gold Perks?

Guide to AJB Basic Economy fares